Images & Multimedia

Images

   AccessScience_Images
Service = McGraw Hill Companies

Image galleries and explanation of scientific phenomena plus downloadable PowerPoint versions of each gallery.
AccessScience_Images

   AP Images
Service = EBSCO

Primary source database of photographs, audio, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. Over 2 million photographs dating back 1826, more than 1 million sound bites dating from the 1920’s, 2 million AP news stories from 1997, and collections of maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and illustrations are included. Updated with more than 3 thousand photos daily.
AP Images

   CAMIO
Service = OCLC (305)

OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online represents the collections of prominent museums highlighting the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms. It is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.
CAMIO

   Credo Reference: NationalGalleryCollection
Service = Credo Reference

x
Credo Reference: NationalGalleryCollection

   Medical Images Collection
Service = EBSCO

Medical Images Collection found within EBSCO's Consumer Health Complete database.
Medical Images Collection

   Oxford Art Online
Service = Oxford University Press

Oxford Art Online comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001). Articles that have been added or updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen.
Oxford Art Online

   Saskia Art Images
Service = CARLI (Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois)

The collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections: the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches Museum, the Uffizi, and the Louvre as well as archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey and Egypt. The images can be displayed and downloaded in high-resolution format. Descriptive data about the images includes references to the occurrences of these images in 19 major art history texts.
Saskia Art Images

Selected Websites

Videos

   AccessScience_Multimedia
Service = McGraw Hill Companies

Flash Player 8 (or higher) is required to view animations.
AccessScience_Multimedia

   American History in Video
Service = Alexander Street Press

Collection of video available for the study of American history-2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. A Critical Video Edition, American History in Video's suite of tools-searches and browses powered by Semantic Indexing and searchable transcripts synchronized to video—give the ability to drill down in seconds to find the footage of interest from thousands of hours of video. This collection is an exclusive collaboration with A&E Television Networks and features some of their most important documentaries and series from The History Channel®, A&E Network®, and Biography®. Historical coverage ranges from the early history of Native Americans, to the lost colony of Roanoke, to the 1988 Vicennes Affair in the Persian Gulf. Biographical coverage ranges from eighteenth century figures such as Benedict Arnold and Daniel Boone to modern day figures such as Thurgood Marshall and Helen Thomas.
American History in Video

   Art and Architecture in Video
Service = Alexander Street Press

A collection of documentaries and interviews illustrating the history, theory and practice of art, design and architecture.
Art and Architecture in Video

   Classical Music in Video
Service = Alexander Street Press

1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video—approximately 1,500 performances in all. The collection contains performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Classical Music in Video

   Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video
Service = Alexander Street Press

A collection of documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals serving on the front lines of justice and public safety.
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video

   Filmakers Library Online
Service = Alexander Street Press

Provides documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Filmakers Library Online

   Masterworks Video Collection
Service = Credo Reference

A collection of art history videos. Each short documentary showcases an artist and a key piece, illuminating the context and history of the work. Illustrated and compellingly presented (narration accompanies each film), these films provide insight into master works of painting.
Masterworks Video Collection
 
   Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video
Service = Alexander Street Press

Video collection in the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more. Developed through an exclusive partnership with Healthy Learning, the world’s leading producer of sports medicine videos, the collection features an array of internationally renowned physicians, exercise scientists, certified athletic trainers, physical therapists, registered dieticians, sport psychologists, personal trainers, and health/wellness experts who share information, ideas, and insights on the principles, techniques, and modalities of modern exercise science and sports medicine.
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video

   Theatre in Video
Service = Alexander Street Press

Collection of performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.
Theatre in Video

   World History in Video
Service = Alexander Street Press

A collection of documentaries that explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.
World History in Video

Selected Websites









Sound

   National Jukebox
Service = Library of Congress, The

Historical recordings from the Library of Congress
National Jukebox

   Naxos Music Library
Service = Naxos of America Inc.

Online classical music library that offers streaming access to more than 17,000 CDs with more than 250,000 tracks. Offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others; and there is also jazz, film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content. Resources offered by NML include synopses of over 700 operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names and a glossary of musical terms. A comprehensive online encyclopedia of classical music is in development. Music for Kids allows primary school teachers to teach young children how to sing and dance and the Story of Classical Music is an interactive entry-level course on all aspects of classical music. Provides playing times of individual works or movements, detailed music notes, and opera libretti. Subscribers can also create personalized playlists. It can be searched by composer, work and label; by keyword search and by a sophisticated advanced search engine with up to 10 combined search criteria.
Naxos Music Library

Selected Websites

Maps

   A to Z Maps
Service = World Trade Press

Online database of downloadable maps for university and college libraries. Includes a diverse range of maps, including modern outline, political, thematic, topographic, scientific, and animated maps, as well as tens of thousands of antique maps of the world, individual countries, holy lands, U.S. states, and U.S. towns and cities, in several digital formats.
A to Z Maps

Selected Websites