Human disciplines: wellness, social, spiritual: Spring Freshman Year

Recommended (free) websites:

  • SCIRUS"the most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet"


  • INFOMINE "a virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It contains useful Internet resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other types of information."


  • Internet Public Library "a public service organization and learning/teaching environment founded at the University of Michigan School of Information and hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology" (from the IPL Mission Statement)

Helpful Research Links (selected from College Writing II website)

Home page Provides links to all of the following pages, plus useful online tutorials, and helpful worksheets.
Dewey Decimal System Reference books and subjects classified assending to the Dewey Decimal System.
Choosing a Topic Get suggestions for a topic
Subject-specific Reference Sources Provides suggested links to resources by major/subject.
General Reference Sources Tells how to use Reference Sources in research and provides links to online options.
Gathering Sources Provides helpful tips for finding books, articles, and more.
Conducting Field Work Provides tips for conducting interviews, observation, and finding datasets.
Citing Sources MLA and APA formats
Creating a Multimedia Presentation Provides tips for creating presentations and finding free images.