History

Databases

   Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier

   American History in Video
Service = Alexander Street Press

Collection of video available for the study of American history-2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. A Critical Video Edition, American History in Video's suite of tools-searches and browses powered by Semantic Indexing and searchable transcripts synchronized to video—give the ability to drill down in seconds to find the footage of interest from thousands of hours of video. This collection is an exclusive collaboration with A&E Television Networks and features some of their most important documentaries and series from The History Channel®, A&E Network®, and Biography®. Historical coverage ranges from the early history of Native Americans, to the lost colony of Roanoke, to the 1988 Vicennes Affair in the Persian Gulf. Biographical coverage ranges from eighteenth century figures such as Benedict Arnold and Daniel Boone to modern day figures such as Thurgood Marshall and Helen Thomas.
American History in Video

   ArchiveGrid
Service = OCLC (305)

Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
ArchiveGrid

   Biblical Archaeology Society Archive
Service = Biblical Archaeology Society

The Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS) disseminates information about archaeology in Bible lands through its bi-monthly magazine, Biblical Archaeology Review and at www.biblicalarchaeology.org.
Biblical Archaeology Society Archive

   Book Review Index Online Plus
Service = Gale Cengage Learning

A comprehensive guide to book reviews with millions of review citations and thousands of full-text reviews from InfoTrac OneFile and InfoTrac Expanded Academic, as well as full text via links to library holdings. Helpful for research in many disciplines, especially literature, history, education, and psychology.
Book Review Index Online Plus

   Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Service = Library of Congress, The

add
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

   CQ Researcher
Service = CQ Press (Division of Sage Publications)

The CQ Researcher Online contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Controversial topics are addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner in the CQ tradition.
CQ Researcher

   Harper's Weekly
Service = Alexander Street Press

A 19th century illustrated newspaper, searchable by keyword, subject headings and additional finding aids.
Harper's Weekly

   Historical Statistics of the United States
Service = Cambridge University Press

Revised five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
Historical Statistics of the United States

   History Study Center
Service = ProQuest - Chadwyck Healey

History Study Center™ includes over 40,000 documents of historical reference material from ancient times through today's current events. This database consists of seven integrated resources that can be cross-searched through a single interface: 1) Study Units-500+ Study Units containing 30-80 items; 2) Reference Works-20,000+ articles from atlases, biographical collections, encyclopedias, and research guides; 3) Picture Library-3,000+ captioned historical photos, political cartoons, woodcuts; 4) Video Library-hundreds of historical video clips, captioned for context and searching; 5) Web Gateway-annotated links to thousands of reliable web sites, from the major primary source collections down to individual pages; 6) KnowledgeNotes™ History Guides-text-based topic guides about trends, events, and the science of history; and 7) Journal Library-cover-to-cover full text of 60 journals.
History Study Center

   Homeland Security Digital Library
Service = HSDL - Homeland Security Digital Library

Over 85,100 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.
Homeland Security Digital Library

   JStor
Service = JSTOR (ITHAKA)

An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
JStor

   OAIster
Service = OCLC (305)

Contains digital resources from open archive collections, including digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and datasets. It represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1000 contributors worldwide and the records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click.
OAIster

   Women and Social Movements
Service = Alexander Street Press

Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 85 document projects with more than 2600 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,000 authors. It includes as well book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Women and Social Movements

   World History in Video
Service = Alexander Street Press

A collection of documentaries that explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.
World History in Video

Selected eBooks

   American Decades
Service = Gale Cengage Learning

Documents and analyzes periods of contemporary American social history.
American Decades

   American Decades Primary Sources
Service = Gale Cengage Learning

Full or excerpted primary sources from the period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements, and events from the decade.
American Decades Primary Sources

   American Eras
Service = Gale Cengage Learning

Essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to particular eras in U.S. history.
American Eras

   Americans At War
Service = Gale Cengage Learning

This unique, four-volume set explains to students how mobilization for war and how wars themselves have altered the fabric of everyday life. Written by scholars in the fields of history, literature and the arts, sociology, law, political science and psychology, the encyclopedia places major American conflicts -- from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism -- in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the homefront. Articles include biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations and monumental art, literature, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, science and technology, humor, and music.
Americans At War

   Chicago Manual of Style Online
Service = The University of Chicago Press

The Online Edition of the Chicago Manual of Style includes recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices, tools, a quick guide, and Q&A section.
Chicago Manual of Style Online

   Credo Reference: History
Service = Credo Reference

Search resources related to History in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference: History

   Dictionary of American History
Service = Gale Cengage Learning

Continually updated from its original 1940 edition, this authoritative work covers a wide range of topics in American history.
Dictionary of American History

   Humanities E-Book
Service = American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS)

Fully searchable collection of 1000+ high-quality books in history from 75 publishers, recommended and reviewed by historians.
Humanities E-Book

   Salem History
Service = Salem Press

Includes the complete content of three printed reference series of historical reference: Milestone Documents - A new, primary source series, The Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American history series, and Great Lives from History - The definitive, worldwide biographical resource.
Salem History

Other Resources

Class Guides

Websites


Research Aids

Citation & Format Guides
Dictionaries
 Credo Reference: Dictionaries
Service = Credo Reference

Search resources related to Dictionaries in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference: Dictionaries

 Oxford English Dictionary
Service = Oxford University Press

According to The Times, the Oxford English Dictionary is "the ultimate authority on the English language as well as a history of English speech and thought from its infancy to the present day." It is a unique source of scholarly information on the meaning, history and pronunciation of words both past and present. The OED provides authoritative definitions of over 500,000 words, traces the usage of words from their first recorded occurrence to the modern period through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international language sources, offers etymological analysis and detailed listings of variant spellings, and uses the International Phonetic Alphabet to show pronunciation.
Oxford English Dictionary

Tips & Tutorials