History
Databases
Search the starred databases all at once:
Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides
full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed
titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals,
and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on
a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier*
ArchiveGrid
Service = OCLC
ArchiveGrid provides online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide.
ArchiveGrid
Biblical Archaeology Society Archive
Service = Biblical Archaeology Society
The Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS) disseminates information about archaeology in Bible lands through its bi-monthly magazine, Biblical Archaeology Review and at www.biblicalarchaeology.org.
Biblical Archaeology Society Archive
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Service = Library of Congress
Contains more than 226,000 pages of public-domain newspapers from California, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, Virginia and the District of Columbia published between 1900 and 1910.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
CQ Researcher
Service = CQ Press
The CQ Researcher Online contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Controversial topics are addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner in the CQ tradition.
CQ Researcher
CQ Weekly
Service = CQ Press
Expert coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. Produced by the largest news team on Capitol Hill.
CQ Weekly
Harper's Weekly
Service = Harper's Weekly
A 19th century illustrated newspaper, searchable by keyword, subject headings and additional finding aids.
Harper's Weekly
History Study Center
Service = ProQuest
History Study CenterT includes over 40,000 documents of historical reference material from ancient times through today's current events.
This database consists of seven integrated resources that can be cross-searched through a single interface: 1) Study Units-500+ Study Units containing 30-80 items; 2) Reference Works-20,000+ articles from atlases, biographical collections, encyclopedias, and research guides; 3) Picture Library-3,000+ captioned historical photos, political cartoons, woodcuts; 4) Video Library-hundreds of historical video clips, captioned for context and searching; 5) Web Gateway-annotated links to thousands of reliable websites, from the major primary source collections down to individual pages; 6)
KnowledgeNotesT History Guides-text-based topic guides about trends, events, and the science of history; and 7) Journal Library-cover-to-cover full text of 60 journals.
History Study Center*
JStor
Service = JStor
An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
JStor*
OAIster
Service = OCLC
Contains digital resources from open archive collections, including digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and datasets. It represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1000 contributors worldwide and the records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click.
OAIster
Women and Social Movements
Service = Alexander Street Press
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 85 document projects with more than 2600 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,000 authors. It includes as well book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Women and Social Movements
Selected eBooks
American Decades
Service = Thomson Gale
Documents and analyzes periods of contemporary American social history.
American Decades
American Decades Primary Sources
Service = Thomson Gale
Full or excerpted primary sources from the period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from the decade.
American Decades Primary Sources
American Eras
Service = Thomson Gale
Essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individual important to particular eras in U.S. History.
American Eras
Americans At War
Service = Thomson Gale
This unique, four-volume set explains to students how mobilization for war and how wars themselves have altered the fabric of everday life. Written by scholars in the fields of history, literature and the arts, sociology, law, political science and psychology, the encyclopedia places major American conflicts -- from the Colonial Wars to the War on Terrorism -- in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the homefront. Articles include biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations and monumental art, literature, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, science and technology, humor, and music.
Americans At War
Credo Reference: History
Service = Credo Reference formerly Xrefer
Search resources related to History in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference: History
CQ's Vital Statistics on American Politics Online Edition
Service = CQ Press
Vital Statistics on American Politics from 1788-2006. Covers a wide range of topics including data on elections, Congress, the presidency, the judiciary, the media, campaign finances, foreign, social, and economic policy, issues related to state and local government, votes cast and offices won, rankings of public officials' reputations, and public opinion data about policy issues.
CQ's Vital Statistics on American Politics Online Edition
Dictionary of American History
Service = Thomson Gale
The first comprehensive revision of this classic reference source, originally published in 1940, features updated and revised entries from previous editions, as well as more than 800 new entries covering recent events and topics not covered previously. This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.
Dictionary of American History
Digital Sanborn Maps
Service = ProQuest
ProQuest Information and Learning's Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides academic and public libraries digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. In electronic form, Sanborn Maps take on much improved value over the microfilm versions of the same maps, allowing for greater flexibility of use and improved viewing possibilities. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years.
Digital Sanborn Maps
History eBook Project
Service = American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS)
Fully searchable collection of 1000+ high-quality books in history from 75 publishers, recommended and reviewed by historians.
History eBook Project
The People's Chronology
Service = Thomson Gale
Presents a year-by-year record of human events from prehistory to the present. Each chronological chapter is further organized by era or year, and within each year by 33 standard subject categories that feature not only political events and wars, but also events in the arts and humanities, education, transportation, science and medicine, and social trends. Also includes issues of concern such as consumer protection, crime, and nutrition.
The People's Chronology
Salem History
Service = Salem Press
Includes the complete content of three printed reference series of historical reference: Milestone Documents - A new, primary source series, The Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American history series, and Great Lives from History - The definitive, worldwide biographical resource.
Salem History