Recommended Geoscience Journals

Journal Title
Print subscription at Olivet?
Available in full-text?
Where is it indexed (where can you find article citations)?
AAPG Bulletin (American Association of Petroleum Geologists)
No print subscription Free access from publisher - 1921-1999
Olivet fulltext subscription - No
American Journal of Science 1/1964-Current Olivet fulltext subscription - 1945 to present
American Mineralogist No print subscription Free abstracts from publisher 1916- present
Olivet fulltext subscription - No
Annual Review of Earth & Planetary Sciences 1/1973-12/1996,
1/2000-Current
(3rd floor call#550.5 An78)
Free access from publisher to first page of article - 1973-1985
Olivet subscription -
Annual Reviews (1996-present)
*Academic Search Premier (1996-2005)
Bulletin of Volcanology No print subscription Free access from publisher - No
Olivet fulltext subscription - No
Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences No print subscription Free access from publisher - No
Olivet subscription -
*Academic Search Premier (2001-6 months ago)
Free abstracts in Ingenta
Canadian Mineralogist No print subscription Free access from publisher - No
Olivet fulltext subscription - No
Chemical Geology No print subscription Free access from publisher - No
Olivet subscription -
*ScienceDirect (1995-Current)
Contributions to Mineralogy and Petrology No print subscription Free access from publisher - No
Olivet subscription -
*Academic Search Premier (2003-12 months ago)
Earth and Planetary Science Letters No print subscription Free access from publisher - No
Olivet subscription -
*ScienceDirect (1966-Current)
Earth Science Reviews 2/1970-2/1992 Free access from publisher - No
Olivet subscription -
*ScienceDirect (1966-Current)
Earth Surface Processes and Landforms No print subscription Free access from publisher - 1997-present, abstracts only
Olivet fulltext subscription - No
Economic Geology 1/1952-Current Free access from publisher - No
Olivet fulltext subscription - No
European Journal of Mineralogy No print subscription Free access from publisher - No
Olivet fulltext subscription - No
Free abstracts in Ingenta
Geochimica et Cosmochimica Acta No print subscription Free access from publisher - No
Olivet subscription -
*ScienceDirect (fulltext Jan 1995-present)(abstracts1950-1994)
Geological Journal No print subscription Free abstracts from publisher: No
Olivet fulltext subscription - No
Geological Magazine No print subscription Free access from publisher - Jan 1940-current
Olivet fulltext subscription - No
GeoScienceWorld
Full Text: Jan. 2000 - present
Abstracts only: Jan. 1940 - Sept. 1999
GeoBase
GSA Bulletin (Geological Society of America) 1/1961-12/1989 Free abstracts from publisher - 1973-present
Olivet fulltext subscription - No
Publisher's search page
1988-current
Retrospective search (-1988)
Geology 1/1964-current Free access from publisher - Free abstracts
Olivet fulltext subscription - No
Publisher's search page
1988-current
Retrospective search (-1988)
Geomorphology No print subscription Free access from publisher - No
Olivet subscription -
*ScienceDirect (1987-Current) note: Free abstracts
International Journal of Earth Sciences No print subscription Free access from publisher - Only a few issues
Olivet fulltext subscription - No
Journal of Geology 1/1964-Current Free access from publisher - No
Olivet subscription -
*Academic Search Premier (1994-Current) with a 12 Month delay
Publisher's search page
1997-current
Journal of Hydrology No print subscription Free access from publisher - No
Olivet subscription -
*ScienceDirect (fulltext 1995-current)(1963-1994); note: Free abstracts

GeoBase

Journal of Metamorphic Geology No print subscription Free access from publisher - No
Olivet subscription -
*Wiley InterScience (1997-Current)
*Academic Search Premier (1998-12 months ago)
Journal of Petrology No print subscription Free access from publisher - No
Olivet fulltext subscription - No
Journal of the Geological Society No print subscription

Free access from publisher - No
Olivet fulltext subscription -
Ingenta Connect

GeoScienceWorld
Fulltext: Jan. 1979 - present
Abstracts only: Mar. 1972-Jan. 1979
Journal of Volcanology and Geothermal Research No print subscription Free access from publisher - No
Olivet subscription -
*ScienceDirect (fulltext 1995-current)(1976-1994); note: Free abstracts
Lithos No print subscription Free access from publisher - No
Olivet subscription -
*ScienceDirect (1968-Current); note: Free abstracts
Mineralogy and Petrology No print subscription Free access from publisher - only a few issues
Olivet fulltext subscription - No
Chemical Abstracts (contact Jasmine Cieszynski for training & password)
Nature 1/1923-12/1923,
1/1934-Current
Free access from publisher - No
Olivet subscription -
*Academic Search Premier (1997-12 months ago)

GeoBase
MEDLINE
PsycINFO

Palaeogeography, Palaeoclimatology, Palaeoecology No print subscription Free access from publisher - No
Olivet fulltext subscription -
*ScienceDirect (fulltext 1995-current)(1965-1994)
Physics of the Earth and Planetary Interiors No print subscription Free access from publisher - no
Olivet subscription -
*ScienceDirect (fulltext 1995-current)(1967-1994); note: Free abstracts
Precambrian Research No print subscription Free access from publisher - no
Olivet subscription -
*ScienceDirect (fulltext 1995-current)(1974-1994)
Science
11/1943-Current
Free access from publisher - no
Olivet subscription -
*Academic Search Premier (1997-2004)
*Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition (1997-2004)
*Professional Development Collection (1997-2004)

GeoBase
MEDLINE
PsycINFO

Tectonophysics No print subscription Free access from publisher - no
Olivet subscription -
*ScienceDirect (fulltext 1995-current)(1964-1994)
Terra Nova No print subscription Free access from publisher - no
Olivet subscription -
*Academic Search Premier (1998-12 months ago)
*Synergy Blackwell (1997-Current)

Journal titles recommended by Prof. Charles Carrigan, Summer 2006. Updated March 16, 2007.

Page created by Jasmine Cieszynski on September 14, 2006. Last updated August 13, 2008.