Geology
Databases
Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides
full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed
titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals,
and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on
a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier
ArticleFirst
Service = OCLC
An OCLC FirstSearch multidisciplinary index of articles over 16,000 journals. It also provides a list of libraries that have the journal title for most journal issues.
ArticleFirst
Digital Sanborn Maps
Service = ProQuest
Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. They list street blocks and building numbers - numbers in use at the time the map was made as well as previous historical numbers.
Digital Sanborn Maps
ECO
Service = OCLC
An OCLC collection of scholarly journals. Includes full text of all the original content and images of articles as well as the bibliographic information for all journals.
ECO
GeoBase
Service = OCLC
Worldwide literature on geography, geology, and ecology. Covers journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports. Includes over 600,000 records with abstracts.
GeoBase
JStor
Service = JStor
An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
JStor
Archaeology
Geography
History of Science & Technology
ScienceDirect
Service = Elsevier B.V.
Includes ScienceDirect College- Physical Sciences and is the world's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. It offers a wide variety of features and content. ScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals. Hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
ScienceDirect
Free Open Access Resources
News Databases
Related Websites
Geology Department
Government Sites
Selected Sites
Research Aids
Reading Primary Literature in Biology
Using the Library Databases
APA Tutorials