Family and Consumer Sciences
Databases
Search the starred databases all at once:
Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides
full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed
titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals,
and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on
a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier*
AP Images
Service = Associated Press
Primary source database that takes users on a sensory journey of photographs, audio, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. Over 2 million photographs dating back 1826, more than 1 million sound bites dating from the 1920's, 2 million AP news stories from 1997, and collections of maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and illustrations are included. Updated with more than 3 thousand photos daily.
AP Images
Biological and Agricultural Index Plus
Service = HW Wilson
Offers access to the core literature of biology and agriculture, much of it from peer-reviewed journals, featuring graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations indispensable to science research.
Biological and Agricultural Index Plus*
Business Source Elite
Service = EBSCO
Provides full text coverage for nearly 1,100 business publications and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,750 journals. Includes full text coverage dating from 1985, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Business Source Elite
Education Research Complete
Service = EBSCO
Education Research Complete is a full-featured online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
Education Research Complete*
ERIC at ed.gov
Service = Eric at ed.gov
ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature indexed from 1966 to the present. ERIC also contains a growing collection of full-text materials in Adobe PDF format, including reports from the What Works Clearinghouse.
ERIC at eric.ed.gov
ERIC (FirstSearch)
Service = OCLC
Journal articles and reports in education. Contains annotated references to non-journal material issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
ERIC (FirstSearch)*
SocINDEX
Service = EBSCO
This research database offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, and violence.
SocINDEX*
Wiley InterScience
Service = Wiley InterScience
Includes full-text articles of over 850 journals, covering subjects throughout medicine, science, social science and the humanities.
Wiley InterScience*
Selected eBooks
Contemporary Fashion
Service = Thomson Gale
A reference book covering individual designers and fashion houses that have been active throughout the 20th and 21st centuries. Informative essays mirror the many facets of the fashion world.
Contemporary Fashion
Nutrition Care Manual
Service = American Dietetic Association
Provides disease-specific information and evaluation, printable client handouts, calculators that compute BMI/weight range, customization tools and more.
Nutrition Care Manual
Other Resources
Class Guides
Websites
Research Aids
Citation & Format Guides
APA /
MLA
Dictionaries
Tips & Tutorials