FACS 330: Community Nutrition

Popular -v- Scholarly
Background: books | online reference sources | ADA papers | vital statistics
Databases

Popular -v- Scholarly Sources

There are three categories of nutrition literature: popular, professional, and peer-reviewed. Each type of literature serves a specific purpose and may assist you at different phases in your research process. Compare charaterisitcs of popular & peer reviewed literature.

Examples

Popular

Professional

Scholarly

Vegetarian times
ONU full-text options | magazine homepage
Healthy weight journal
ONU full-text options | journal homepage
American journal of clinical nutrition
ONU full-text options | journal homepage
  Nutrition today (Annapolis)
ONU full-text options | journal homepage
Journal of the American Dietetic Association
ONU full-text options | journal homepage
     
 

Government publication

Family economics and nutrition review
ONU full-text options | journal homepage

 

Background Sources

Books

Search Library Catalog | Search I-Share | Search WorldCat

Library of Congress Subject Headings (used to classify books)

  • Diet Scope note: "Works on the food and drink regularly consumed by an individual or group of people are entered under Diet."
  • Food
  • Food supply
  • Malnutrition
  • Nutrition Scope note: "Here are entered works on the sum of the physiological processes involved in the assimilation and utilization of nutrients for proper body functioning and health. This heading may be subdivided by place to indicate the nutritional status of a group of people in the place."
  • Nutrition policy

Online Reference Sources

Access Science: Science encyclopedia and dictionary
Health Source Consumer Edition: Access to 300 full-text consumer health periodicals, pamphlets and books
World Almanac

American Dietetic Association (ADA) Position Papers

"ADA Position Papers explain the Association's stance on issues that affect the nutritional status of the public. Positions, which consist of a position statement and a support paper, are based on sound scientific data." (from http://www.eatright.org/Public/index_7705.cfm)

  1. Go to the ADA homepage
  2. From the menu on the left, choose "Postion Papers"
  3. Browse alphabetically or by category: Food Choices, Food Supply, Life Span, Nutrition Management, Public Health

Vital Statistics

  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
    • National Center for Health Statistics-National Vital Statistics System: "... inter-governmental data sharing in Public Health ... collects and disseminates the Nation's official vital statistics. These data are provided through contracts between NCHS and vital registration systems operated in the various jurisdictions legally responsible for the registration of vital events--births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and fetal deaths."
    • Data and Statisitcs: "As the lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people, CDC ...compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the Nation....We collect data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing....providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting health through strong partnerships."
    • Search for "nutrition"


  • US Census Bureau
    • Population and Household Economic Topics
    • Population Estimates: "publishes total resident population estimates and demographic components of change (births, deaths, and migration) each year. We also publish the estimates by demographic characteristics (age, sex, race, and Hispanic origin) for the nation, states and counties."
Need help with these stats sources? email Pam Greenlee, Outreach Services Coordinator

Article Databases

Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition: Recommended by librarian, Pam Greenlee!
Medline: >Corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Includes nursing and allied health articles from worldwide, scientific literature presented for the needs of health professionals.

All databases: alphabetical list | by subject

Full-text "Health Sciences: Nutrition and Dietetics" journals at Benner | All print journals at Benner (search by title) | Connect from off-campus (use ONU username and password)


This page was created by Jasmine Cieszynski, Instructional Services Librarian, on August 29, 2005. Last updated February 11, 2008.