Popular -v- Scholarly
Background: books | online reference
sources | ADA papers | vital
statistics
Databases
There are three categories of nutrition literature: popular, professional, and peer-reviewed. Each type of literature serves a specific purpose and may assist you at different phases in your research process. Compare charaterisitcs of popular & peer reviewed literature.
Popular |
Professional |
Scholarly |
| Vegetarian times ONU full-text options | magazine homepage |
Healthy weight journal ONU full-text options | journal homepage |
American journal of clinical nutrition ONU full-text options | journal homepage |
| Nutrition today (Annapolis) ONU full-text options | journal homepage |
Journal of the American Dietetic Association ONU full-text options | journal homepage |
|
Government publicationFamily economics and nutrition review |
Search BLISweb | Search I-Share Online | Search WorldCat
| Database | Description |
| Access Science | Science encyclopedia and dictionary |
| Health Source Consumer Edition | Access to 300 full-text consumer health periodicals, pamphlets and books |
| Physicians' Desk Ref | Well-known drug resource. |
| World
Almanac |
The World Almanacs |
ONU Reference Page: Health and Medicine links
"ADA Position Papers explain the Association's stance on issues that affect the nutritional status of the public. Positions, which consist of a position statement and a support paper, are based on sound scientific data." (from http://www.eatright.org/Public/index_7705.cfm)
|
Need help with these stats sources? email
Pam Greenlee, Outreach Services Coordinator |
| Connect from off-campus | Database | Description |
| Health Source Academic Edition | Recommended by librarian, Pam Greenlee! | |
| Medline | Corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. | |
| CINAHL | Includes nursing and allied health articles from worldwide, scientific literature presented for the needs of health professionals. |
All databases: alphabetical list | by subject
Full-text "Health Sciences: Nutrition and Dietetics" journals at Benner | All print journals at Benner (search by title) | Connect from off-campus (use ONU username and password)
This page was created by Jasmine Cieszynski, Instructional Services Librarian, on August 29, 2005. Last updated February 11, 2008.