FACS 103: Introduction to FACS

APA citation information

Information you need for a correct citation
Sample citations
How-to information from the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Benner library has several print copies of the APA manual: Reference (1st-floor) call number: R 808.02 Am35, 2001
A copy you may check out (3rd-floor) call number: 808.02 Am35, 2001
One copy in Benner computer lab
One copy on Reserve (Circulation desk).

Government Resources

Career Guide to Industries (industry descriptions)
Occupational Outlook Handbook (specific careers)
O’Net (skills needed; match your skills to careers)

Olivet Resources

Online

Vault Career Library
Counseling & Career Services Home Page
FACS Department Home Page - go to "Students" then "Student Organizations" then "Professional organizations"
TouchInspire computer: located on the first-floor of the library

Print (located in College and Career section on first floor of Benner Library)

Encyclopedia of Careers & Vocational Guidance R331.702 En19
Encyclopedia of Associations R 061 G131e
Encyclopedia of Careers & Vocational Guidance R331.702 En19
Enhanced Occupational Outlook Handbook (w/O’Net numbers) R 371.425 Oc1o
Occupational Outlook Handbook R371.425 Oc1o
O’Net Dictionary of Occupational Titles R 331.7 On2

Databases


Academic Search Premier
ABI-Inform: indexes Career World; Career Development International
Medline: nutrition, dietician

Professional Organizations

American Association of Family & Consumer Sciences
American Dietetics Association
American Society for Nutritional Sciences
Association for Childhood Education International
Fashion Merchandising Career Options
International Interior Design Association (IIDA)
National Assoc. for the Education of Young Children
National Child Care Information Center
Online Guide to the Apparel Industry

Trade Publications

Examples of Journals in Family and Consumer Sciences