PHED 370: Adaptive Physical Education

Recommended Journals

Title  Description  Availability/Database 
Adapted Physical Activity Quarterly  Peer-Reviewed, Research-based articles Print at Benner: 1/1984-10/2004; Fulltext 1984-present
Databases:
Academic Search Premier or
Physical Education Index 
Journal of Health, Physical Education, Recreated and Dance (JOPERD)  Peer-Reviewed, Research-based articles  Print: 5/1981- Current
Fulltext:1988 to present
Database: Education Journals
Palaestra: forum of sport, physical education and recreation for those with disabilities  Recreation for those with disabilities - practical application articles  No print holdings
Fulltext - 1997-present
Databases:
Nursing & Allied Health Source
Sports 'n' Spokes: the magazine for wheelchair sports and recreation  Articles about competitive wheel chair sports and opportunities available for persons who use wheelchairs  No print holdings
No fulltext - use ILL
Database
Physical Education Index  

Article Databases

General

    Academic Search Premier

Education

    Education Research Complete

    ERIC (EBSCO)

    Education Journals (ProQuest)

    Teacher Reference Center

Physical Education

    Physical Education Index

Legal

    Westlaw Classic Campus Research

Federal Legislation

1975 Education for All handicapped Children Act (PL 94-142)
Fulltext not found

1990 Americans with Disabilities Act (PL 101-336)

1990 IDEA (PL 101-476)

1997 Reauthorized IDEA (PL 105-17)

CRS Report for Congress: The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA): Overview of Major Provisions

2001 No Child Left Behind

2004 Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act (PL 108-446)

2005 ADA

Physical Education for Progress (PEP) Act

Open (CRS) Congressional Research Service Reports for the People

Reference Sources

Chronology of the Disability Rights Movements (website)

Illinois Association of School Boards’ School Law resources (website)

The handbook of physical education (2006) Call number: 796.071 H191k (3rd-floor)

Deaf learners: developments in curriculum and instruction (2006) Call number: 371.912 D34m (2nd-floor)

These books are part of the Reference Collection, located on the 1st-floor of Benner Library:
The Disability Movement: (1997) Call number: R323.3 P363a

Encyclopedia of Disability and Rehabilitation (1995) Call number: R362.403 En19d

Encyclopedia of Education Law V.1-2 (2008) Call number: R344.0703 En19r

Children, Young Adults, and the Law: a dictionary (1998) Call number: R346.0135 Ar62c

Children with disabilities in America: a historical handbook and guide (2006) Call number: R362.4083 C437s

Illinois School Law V.1-2 1999 Practice Handbook (1999) Call number: R344.071 IL6i, 1999

Americans with disabilities act of 1990: Law and explanation (1990) Call number: R346.013 Am35u

Equality of Opportunity: the making of the Americans With Disabilities Act (1997) Call number: R346.013 Y85e

Library of Congress Subject Headings: "Topics" or "Subjects" in BLISweb & I-Share

Physical education and training
  • handbooks, manuals, etc.
  • curricula
  • study and teaching
Deaf Children
  • education
Children with disabilities
  • United States
  • history
Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 Handicapped
  • Civil rights
  • legal status, laws, etc.

APA Citation

APA guide (use the 6th edition)