PHED 242: Foundations of Health Education

(literature of health education)

Types of sources: Primary | Secondary & Tertiary | Popular Press | Websites
Using the Web: evaluation criteria, recommended sites
Help

Structure of a research article

Sections of a paper:


Primary Sources

Definition: Published research in peer-reviewed (refereed) journals or eyewitness accounts

Print journal subscriptions at Olivet:

Browse journal literature to gain current awareness in your field. Consider these titles:

    Sources recommended in your textbook:
Availability:

American Journal of Health Behavior

print: none | full-text: Jan. 1996 -

American Journal of Health Studies

print: none | full-text: Jan. 1997 -

American Journal of Public Health

print: May 1961-94; 1996 - | full-text: Jan. 1975 -

Family and Community Health

print: 1983 - | full-text: Jan. 1999 -

The Hastings Center Report

print: none | full-text: Jul. 1990 -

Journal of School Health

print: 1972 - | full-text: Jan. 1994 -

Public Health Reports

print: Nov. 1950 - | full-text: Jan. 1983 - 2004

Use these databases to search for scholarly (primary) articles in various fields realted to health education

Medical Databases

Physical Education Index CSA Physical Education Index allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information in this comprehensive database. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.
Health Source: Academic Edition Features abstracts & indexing for nearly 850 journals focusing on many medical disciplines, 550 are full text and 450 are peer-reviewed
MEDLINE
Free version, "MedlinePLUS"

All areas of medicine. Includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts.

CINAHL Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health. Includes nursing and allied health articles from worldwide, scientific literature presented for the needs of health professionals. Includes articles, health care books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts and educational software.

Education Databases

ERIC

Free version from US Government
Journal articles and reports in education. ERIC is a national information system sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education designed to provide ready access to education literature. The ERIC database is the world's largest index to journal articles and documents in education, containing over 1,200,000 citations.

Social Science Databases

PsychArticles
Full-text articles in general and specialized psychology. Includes full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals linked to every record. Includes all articles from the journal issues indexed, as well as errata and letters to the editor. Indexes selected U.S., Canadian, and European psychology journals.
PsycINFO
Includes international material selected from periodicals written in over 25 languages since 1887. Includes current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Adds over 55,000 references annually through monthly updates.
SocINDEX
World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 1,660,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 750 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 575 "priority" coverage journals as well as from more than 2,800 "selective" coverage journals.

Secondary & Tertiary sources

Definitions: Secondary sources contain a summary of primary sources, including review articles.
Tertiary sources are typically reference sources, including encyclopedias and handbooks.

  • Search BLISweb for materials owned at Olivet
  • Search I-Share for materials owned by 76 partner libraries in Illinois.
  • Search WorldCat for items owned by libraries in the U.S. and abroad

Books at Benner Library:

Visit these ranges on the third floor Visit this range on the 2nd floor
  • 610 - Medical Sciences - Education
  • 611 - Human Anatomy
  • 612 - Human Physiology
  • 613 - Promotion of Health
  • 615 - Incidence & Prevention of Disease
  • 615 - Pharmacology
  • 616 - Diseases
  • 372 - Elementary education - Health


  • Health education evaluation and measurement : a practitioner's perspective
    1999, Benner Library Call Number: 613.071 M143h, 1999


  • Promoting teen health : linking schools, health organizations, and community
    1998, Benner Library Call Number: 613.0433 P944h


  • Teaching today's health
    1998, Benner Library Call Number: 372.37 An83t, 1998


  • Health education . Vol. 105, No. 5, Arts and health
    Library Location: Electronic Resource ebrary

  • Opportunities in allied health careers 2005
    Library Location: Electronic Resource
  • ebrary

  • Health literacy: a prescription to end confusion 2004
    Library Location: Electronic Resource ebrary

Ebook collections:


Popular press (magazines)

Popular: Written for a lay-audience, rarely contain detailed citation information

Academic Search Premier
Full-text (beginning in 1985) for nearly 1,850 publications, including peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for all additional journals. Offers information in medical sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, ethnic studies and more.
ArticleFirst
Index of articles from the table of contents pages of 12,000+ journals (1990 to present). Citations to articles, news stories, letters, and other items. Updated Daily.
Health Source:
Consumer Edition

Provides access to more than 130 full text, consumer health magazines. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 130 health reference books, and more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish);


Using the Web effectiviely

Evaluation criteria

  • Purpose & scope
  • Authority & qualifications of author
  • Accuracy of facts and references
  • Who links to it? What do they say?

Questions to ask yourself (from UC Berkely librarians)

Quick summary of criteria (from Kenyon College librarians)

Recommended websites

This page was created by Jasmine Cieszynski, Instructional Services Librarian on December 6, 2004. Last updated December 28, 2008.