PHED 190: Wellness
Article databases | Evaluation
criteria | Recommended websites | Citation
style
Help: PowerPoint, Reference,
IM
Article Databases
Academic Search Premier
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
Features abstracts & indexing for nearly 850 journals (550 are full text and 450 are peer-reviewed) focusing on many medical disciplines. Text dates back to 1975.
Health Source Consumer Edition
Provides access to more than 130 full text, consumer health magazines. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 130 health reference books, and more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish);
Medline
MEDLINE with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, 528 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.
PsycARTICLES
Full-text articles from over 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1.
PsycINFO
Published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed. Includes more than 2 million records.
OmniFile Full Text Select
OmniFile Full Text, Select Edition™ is a full text-only database that contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.
Evaluation Criteria
Considerations
- Purpose & scope
- Authority & qualifications of author
- Accuracy of facts and references
- Who links to it? What do they say?
|
|
Recommended Websites
- Health.gov:
A portal to the Websites of a number of multi-agency health initiatives
and activities of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
(HHS) and other Federal departments and agencies.
- MayoClinic.com:
Mayo Clinic Health Information's award-winning consumer Website
offers health information, and self-improvement and disease management
tools. MayoClinic.com's medical experts and editorial professionals
bring you access to the knowledge and experience of Mayo Clinic
for all of your consumer health information needs, from cancer,
diabetes and heart disease to nutrition, exercise and pregnancy.
- Health
Education Assets Library (HEAL): "The HEAL vision is
to create the leading digital library relied upon by a worldwide
community of teachers and learners to improve the effectiveness
of health sciences education. HEAL's mission is to provide free
digital materials of the highest quality that meet the
needs of today's health sciences educators and learners."
Part of the National
Science Digital Library (NSDL).
- Interactive
Health Tutorials: "... interactive health education resources
from the Patient Education Institute. Using [Macromedia Flash]
animated graphics, each tutorial explains a procedure or condition
in easy-to-read language. You can also [print or] listen to the
tutorial. " Part of MedlinePlus.
- Mediweb:
Contains links to a medical glossary, image library, and tutorials.
Site created and managed by Medical Online.
- Nutritive
Values of Food: .PDF file from the USDA for caloric values
of food products
Citation Style
 |
Remember to attribute images and text
from online sources in your PowerPoint presentations by giving
the URL and page title! |