PHED 190: Wellness

Article databases | Evaluation criteria | Recommended websites | Citation style
Help: PowerPoint, Reference, IM

Article Databases

Connect from off-campus
Database
Description
Academic Search Elite Full-text (as far back as 1985) for nearly 1,850 publications, including nearly 1,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for all 3,232 journals in the collection. Offers information in social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more. Popular and Scholarly. General.
ECO Full text collection of scholarly journals (1995 to present). Includes all of the original content and images of articles plus citation information. Subjects include: agriculture, anthropology, business, economics, education, fine arts, geography, history, language, law, library science, literature, medicine, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, social science, and technology. Updated Daily. Scholarly. General.
Health Source:
Academic Edition
Provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals.
Health Source:
Consumer Edition
The richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide. This resource provides access to nearly 300 full text, consumer health periodicals. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 300 periodicals. Also included in this database is searchable full text for nearly 1,100 health-related pamphlets.
MEDLINE Corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. Includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts. Scholarly. Medicine.
Periodical Abstracts Bibliographic citations and concise abstracts from 2,040+ general and academic journals (1987 to present). Contains records for transcripts of significant segments of 80+ news- and lifestyle-oriented t.v. and radio programs. Coverage includes: business, economics, literature, psychology, religion, and women's studies. Updated Weekly. Popular and Scholarly. General.
PsychArticles Includes full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals linked to every record. Includes all articles from the journal issues indexed, as well as errata and letters to the editor. All full-text. Scholarly. Psychology.
PsycInfo Includes international material selected from periodicals written in over 25 languages since 1887. Includes current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Adds over 55,000 references annually through monthly updates. Scholarly. Psychology.
Wilson Select Plus General database. Full text articles in 1600+ science, humanities, education, and business journals (1994 to present). Updated Weekly. Popular and Scholarly. General.

Evaluation Criteria

    Considerations
  • Purpose & scope
  • Authority & qualifications of author
  • Accuracy of facts and references
  • Who links to it? What do they say?

Recommended Websites

  • Health.gov: A portal to the Websites of a number of multi-agency health initiatives and activities of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and other Federal departments and agencies.


  • MayoClinic.com: Mayo Clinic Health Information's award-winning consumer Website offers health information, and self-improvement and disease management tools. MayoClinic.com's medical experts and editorial professionals bring you access to the knowledge and experience of Mayo Clinic for all of your consumer health information needs, from cancer, diabetes and heart disease to nutrition, exercise and pregnancy.


  • Health Education Assets Library (HEAL): "The HEAL vision is to create the leading digital library relied upon by a worldwide community of teachers and learners to improve the effectiveness of health sciences education. HEAL's mission is to provide free digital materials of the highest quality that meet the needs of today's health sciences educators and learners." Part of the National Science Digital Library (NSDL).


  • Interactive Health Tutorials: "... interactive health education resources from the Patient Education Institute. Using [Macromedia Flash] animated graphics, each tutorial explains a procedure or condition in easy-to-read language. You can also [print or] listen to the tutorial. " Part of MedlinePlus.


  • Mediweb: Contains links to a medical glossary, image library, and tutorials. Site created and managed by Medical Online.


  • Nutritive Values of Food: .PDF file from the USDA for caloric values of food products

Citation Style

Remember to attribute images and text from online sources in your PowerPoint presentations by giving the URL and page title!