EXSS 495: Senior Seminar in Athletic Training

Finding Articles | Finding Books | APA Citation Style | Help

Finding Articles

Database Name

Description

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. Note: I found many "false-hits" when doing keyword searches.
Wiley InterScience
It holds the full-text articles of over 850 journals. The subjects covered range across Medicine, Science, Social Science and the Humanities.
Choice Reviews Online ChoiceReviews.online provides access to ... [book] reviews published since September 1988. The database is updated monthly, generally at mid-month, with reviews that will be printed in the next monthly issue of CHOICE. The newest reviews appear, arranged by academic discipline and broad cross-disciplinary topic, in Current Issue.They also are searchable by using Advanced Search, selecting by CHOICE Issue Date, and combining with various other criteria. This page provides more instruction for finding book reviews.
CINAHL Plus (EBSCO)
Includes nursing and allied health articles from worldwide, scientific literature presented for the needs of health professionals. Provides articles about nursing, allied health, biomedical, consumer health journals, and publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Includes health care books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts and educational software.
Clinical Pharmacology (EBSCO)
Clinical Pharmacology contains current, concise and clinically-relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs. Drugs may be searched by their generic or brand names. Clinical Pharmacology is made up of Drug Monograph and Patient Education Records. Drug Monographs include description, mechanism of action, and pharmacokinetics. Patient Education Records contain such information as what the medication is used for, what their health care professional should know before taking the medication, how the medication should be taken, what they should do if a dose is missed, what other medications can interact, what side effects may be noticed, what to watch for, and where to keep the medication.
Dissertations and Theses
Contains "doctoral dissertations and master’s theses .... From engineering to environmental studies, linguistics to life sciences.... the most comprehensive single source of multidisciplinary academic research papers in the world."
ECO

Full text collection of scholarly journals (1995 to present). Includes all of the original content and images of articles plus citation information. Subjects include: agriculture, anthropology, business, economics, education, fine arts, geography, history, language, law, library science, literature, medicine, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, social science, and technology. Updated Daily.

EJS (EBSCO)

Link to this collection from other EBSCO databases. EJS contains full text of articles for those journals managed through EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (EJS), as well as usage of Links in EBSCOhost. EJS ejournals allows search and retrieval of citations, abstracts, and full text. Users will have access to titles from publishers who have given EBSCO permission to re-use Table of Contents and abstract information in an aggregated database

ERIC (FirstSearch)

Journal articles and reports in education. ERIC is a national information system sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education designed to provide ready access to education literature. The ERIC database is the world's largest index to journal articles and documents in education, containing over 1,200,000 citations.

Health Source: Academic (EBSCO)

 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals

MEDLINE
Corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. Includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts.
Physical Education Index
CSA Physical Education Index allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information in this comprehensive database. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.
Physicians' Desk Ref
For 30 years, Thomson MICROMEDEX has answered clinical questions by providing trusted medical information. By combining evidence-based content with flexible technology, our products are the foundation clinicians need to focus on patient care. In addition to our trusted past, MICROMEDEX has a vision of changing the future of healthcare by partnering our quality content with the industry's top information system vendors.
ScienceDirect: Nursing Olivet has full-text access to nursing titles plus some free titles through this database.

Finding Books

BLISweb: Olivet's online catalog

I-Share: shared catalog of 76 libraries in Illinois.

WorldCat: Check the holdings or request books from libraries across the U.S. and from other nations

Recommended Books

  1. Foundations of athletic training : prevention, assessment, and management / Marcia K. Anderson, Susan J. Hall, Malissa Martin. 2004
    Call number: 617.1027 An24f, 2004 (CD-ROM at Circulation Desk)


  2. Head and neck injuries in sports medicine / D. Greg Anderson and Gregory A. Helm, guest editors. 2003
    Call Number: 617.1027 C616c, v.22, no.3


  3. Facilities planning for health, fitness, physical activity, recreation and sports : concepts and applications / Thomas H. Sawyer, editor-in-chief. 2002
    Call Number: 790.068 F118s, 2002


  4. Research in athletic training / Christopher Ingersoll. 2001
    Call Number: 796 In4r


  5. Therapeutic modalities for athletic injuries / Craig R. Denegar. 2000
    Call Number: 617.1027 D412t

  6. Aquatic sports injuries and rehabilitation / Allen B. Richardson, guest editor. 1999
    Call Number: 617.1027 C616c, v.18, no.2


  7. Sports pharmacology / James B. Robinson, guest editor. 1998
    Call Number: 617.1027 C616c, v.17, no.2


  8. Principles of athletic training / Daniel D. Arnheim, William E. Prentice. 1997
    Call Number: 617.1027 Ar62p, 1997


  9. Case studies in athletic training administration / Richard Ray. 1995
    Call Number: 796.069 R213c

APA Citation Style

Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format (Updated to 5th Edition) from, Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)

Page created January 25, 2006 by Jasmine Cieszynski. Last updated February 11, 2008