EXSS 147: Introduction to Athletic Training

Scholarly -vs- Popular | Tutorial: How to Read Scholarly Articles | Suggested Journals | Article databases

Scholarly -vs- Popular sources

Compare: popular -v- scholarly sources | scholarship -v- propaganda

    Consider:
  • Appearance
  • Audience
  • Author
  • Review process
  • Article structure

How to Read Scholarly Articles


Suggested journals

Title Full-text Print Holdings at ONU Indexed in...
Journal of Athletic Training Since v. 36 (1), March '01 (PubMed) Since Jan. 2000 BIOSIS, ERIC, PsychInfo
Sports Medicine Current issue (Publisher)
1997 to present (ONU)
Since 1992 ArticleFirst, ECO, MEDLINE
Journal of Sport Rehabilitation not available Since Feb. 2001 ArticleFirst, CINAHL
Physician and Sports Medicine Since 1996 (Publisher) Since 1985 info. not available

Article databases

  • ArticleFirst: Index of articles from the contents pages of 12,000+ journals (1990 to present). Describes one article, news story, letter, or other item from a journal in each record. Subjects include: business, science, humanities, social science, medicine technology, and popular culture. Updated Daily.


  • CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health. Includes nursing and allied health articles from worldwide, scientific literature presented for the needs of health professionals. Provides articles about nursing, allied health, biomedical, consumer health journals, and publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Includes health care books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts and educational software.


  • Health Source--Academic Edition: Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.


  • ERIC: Journal articles and reports in education. ERIC is a national information system sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education designed to provide ready access to education literature. The ERIC database is the world's largest index to journal articles and documents in education, containing over 1,200,000 citations.


  • Health Source--Consumer Edition: This database i s the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide. This resource provides access to nearly 300 full text, consumer health periodicals. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 300 periodicals. Also included in this database is searchable full text for nearly 1,100 health-related pamphlets.


  • MEDLINE: Abstracted articles from medical journals. Corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. Includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts.


  • Physical Education Index: CSA Physical Education Index allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information in this comprehensive database. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.


  • Physicians' Desk Reference: For 30 years, Thomson MICROMEDEX has answered clinical questions by providing trusted medical information. By combining evidence-based content with flexible technology, their products are the foundation clinicians need to focus on patient care.


  • PsycInfo: Includes international material selected from periodicals written in over 25 languages since 1887. Includes current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Adds over 55,000 references annually through monthly updates.
  • Nutritive Values of Food: .PDF file from the USDA for caloric values of food products

Page created on February 11, 2008 by Jasmine Cieszynski, Instructional Services Librarian. Last updated Sept. 19, 2006.