EXSS 129: Principles of Sport Management

Historical Origins of the sport

Strategy: Read books & encyclopedias for background

  1. Browse the Reference and circulating collections by Dewey Decimal Number
  2. Do a Keyword search in Library Catalog and narrow to the “Reference” collection or by “topic”*
  3. Search the Library Catalog using subjects(also called “topics”) from this handout
  4. Use an eReference collection like
    1. Gale Virtual Reference Library
    2. SAGE Knowledge eReference

How has the sport evolved?

Specific sources:

Academic Search Premier: a database which contains scholarly and popular articles (including, Sports Illustrated). Limit to “fulltext” and 2002-present.

Physical Education Index: scholarly article database. Limit to 2002-present. No option to limit to fulltext; make InterLibrary Loan (ILL) requests if needed.

AP Images
Service = EBSCO

Primary source database of photographs, audio, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. Over 2 million photographs dating back 1826, more than 1 million sound bites dating from the 1920’s, 2 million AP news stories from 1997, and collections of maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and illustrations are included. Updated with more than 3 thousand photos daily.
AP Images


American History in Video
Service = Alexander Street Press

Collection of video available for the study of American history-2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. A Critical Video Edition, American History in Video's suite of tools-searches and browses powered by Semantic Indexing and searchable transcripts synchronized to video—give the ability to drill down in seconds to find the footage of interest from thousands of hours of video. This collection is an exclusive collaboration with A&E Television Networks and features some of their most important documentaries and series from The History Channel®, A&E Network®, and Biography®. Historical coverage ranges from the early history of Native Americans, to the lost colony of Roanoke, to the 1988 Vicennes Affair in the Persian Gulf. Biographical coverage ranges from eighteenth century figures such as Benedict Arnold and Daniel Boone to modern day figures such as Thurgood Marshall and Helen Thomas.
American History in Video


World History in Video
Service = Alexander Street Press

A collection of documentaries that explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.
World History in Video

APA Style

APA Help