Reference
Databases
A to Z Maps
Service = World Trade Press
Online database of downloadable maps for university and college libraries. Includes a diverse range of maps, including modern outline, political, thematic, topographic, scientific, and animated maps, as well as tens of thousands of antique maps of the world, individual countries, holy lands, U.S. states, and U.S. towns and cities, in several digital formats.A to Z Maps
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Service = EBSCO
Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains images, brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Global Road Warrior
Service = World Trade Press
Coverage on 175 countries in easy-to-use format includes traditions, habits, and social norms of people, as well as information on governments, culture, and health care.Global Road Warrior
Oxford English Dictionary
Service = Oxford University Press
According to The Times, the Oxford English Dictionary is "the ultimate authority on the English language as well as a history of English speech and thought from its infancy to the present day." It is a unique source of scholarly information on the meaning, history and pronunciation of words both past and present. The OED provides authoritative definitions of over 500,000 words, traces the usage of words from their first recorded occurrence to the modern period through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international language sources, offers etymological analysis and detailed listings of variant spellings, and uses the International Phonetic Alphabet to show pronunciation. Oxford English Dictionary
Selected eBooks
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Service = Gale Cengage Learning
Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music, and religion from a specific period, each volume in this five-volume set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume. Nine chapters follow, covering the major branches of the humanities: architecture and design, dance, fashion, literature, music, philosophy, religion, theater, and visual arts. Chapters begin with a chronology of major events within the discipline followed by articles covering the movements, schools of thought, and masterworks that characterize the discipline during the era and biographical profiles of pioneers, masters, and other prominent figures in the field. Chapters end with significant bibliography of primary documents from the period.Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Credo Reference
Service = Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials. Credo Reference
Encyclopedia of Associations
Service = Gale Cengage Learning
Comprehensive source for detailed information on nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope. Each entry features a range of valuable data, typically including the organization’s complete name, address, e-mail, Web site and phone; the primary official’s name and title; founding date; purpose and activities; dues; national and international conferences; and more.Encyclopedia of Associations
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
Service = Gale Cengage Learning
Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies.Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Service = Gale Cengage Learning
Gale Virtual Reference Library offers you an online collection of premier reference eBooks. You can search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection - a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGale Virtual Reference Library
SAGE Knowledge eReference
Service = SAGE Publications, Inc.
Search available SAGE eReference Encyclopedias.SAGE Knowledge eReference
Salem Health
Service = Salem Press
Salem Health includes Salem Press’ five volume Magill’s Medical Guide. an authoritative reference source that bridges the gap between medical encyclopedias and popular self-help guides. It is an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research, general readers, patients and caregivers. The Guide covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. Includes illustrations and sidebars, indexes, appendixes, and cross-references.Salem Health
Salem History
Service = Salem Press
Includes the complete content of three printed reference series of historical reference: Milestone Documents - A new, primary source series, The Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American history series, and Great Lives from History - The definitive, worldwide biographical resource. Salem History
World Almanac
Service = OCLC (305)
Created especially for schools and libraries, World Almanac includes the most current and previous editions of The World Almanac and Book of Facts, with the complete updated and enhanced World Almanac Encyclopedia (Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia). Editorial hyperlinking leads from detailed tables in The World Almanac to related statistical material, background articles, and biographies in The World Almanac Encyclopedia, the most recent developments as reported in the World News Digest, and related coverage in Today's Science and Issues & Controversies. World Almanac
Research Aids
Citation & Format Guides
Dictionaries
Tips & Tutorials