English

Databases

  Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier

  ArticleFirst
Service = OCLC

An OCLC FirstSearch multidisciplinary index of articles over 16,000 journals. It also provides a list of libraries that have the journal title for most journal issues.
ArticleFirst

  Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts
Service = EBSCO

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management. Coverage in the database extends back to the mid-1960s.
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts

  Literature Online
Service = ProQuest

A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 197 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Online

  ECO
Service = OCLC

An OCLC collection of scholarly journals. Includes full text of all the original content and images of articles as well as the bibliographic information for all journals.
ECO

  JStor
Service = JStor

An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
JStor

       Education
       History of Science & Technology
  Middle & Junior High Core Collection
Service = HW Wilson

This catalog provides indispensable help with collection development and maintenance, curriculum support, selection and purchasing, readers' advisory, and general reference for readers grades 5-9. Includes entries for nonfiction works, fiction and collections for children and adolescents, plus review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. The Core Collection also includes entries for recommended CD-ROMs. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available.
Middle & Junior High Core Collection

  ScienceDirect
Service = Elsevier B.V.

Includes ScienceDirect College- Physical Sciences and is the world's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. It offers a wide variety of features and content. ScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals. Hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
ScienceDirect

  Senior High Core Collection
Service = H.W. Wilson

A selective list of books recommended for grades 9-12 will prove invaluable for collection development and maintenance, readers' advisory, and curriculum support in the high school library. More than 10,000 entries for fiction and nonfiction works, as well as recommended CD-ROMs, offer listings of review sources and other aids for librarians and school media specialists. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available.
Senior High Core Collection


News Databases

Related Websites

ONU Department of English
Selected Sites

Research Aids

Using the Library Databases
APA Tutorials