College Writing II

Reference Sources: General | Subject-specific
Download the Dewey reference sheets

General Reference Sources

Use reference sources to get background information or to look up a specific fact. Our library owns general encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs plus subject-specific books.

Almanacs | Biographies | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Maps | Statistics

Almanacs
World Almanac Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs. "Includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics."

Biographies
American National Biography Selected collections celebrate the diversity of American history: Black History, Women's History, Asian Pacific American Heritage, American Indian Heritage, and Hispanic Heritage. Articles from February 2000-Present.
Biography Index Index to a wide range of biographical material, covering articles, books, and autobiographies for biographical subjects from antiquity to the present and includes individual and collective biographies from all fields and nationalities.
Newsmaker Profiles Biographies from World News Digest
LexisNexis People Search for biographical information about individuals using the biographical search form.

Dictionaries
Credo Reference: Dictionaries eBook collection of over 300 titles and 60 publishers. Search by keyword or use concept map tab. Put a check-mark next to the categories that you want to search.
OED (Oxford English Dictionary) The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition English Dictionary.
Oxford Art Online Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.
Oxford Music Online Full-text search with advanced capabilities with over 3000 links to related sites, including sound archives and illustrations

Encyclopedias
Credo Reference: Encyclopedias e-book collection of dictionaries and encyclopedias. Search by keyword or use concept map tab. Put a check-mark next to the categories that you want to search.
Access Science Access Science is an online encyclopedia of science and technology. Headlines from Science News are also available.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas (eBook) "International scholars explore new thinking in areas [such as] communism, linguistics, physics and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism"
The People's Chronology (eBook) "[describes] historical developments from prehistory through 2004"
Funks & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains images, brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.
Sage eReference Encyclopedias Search available SAGE eReference Encyclopedias.

Maps
Atlas case The altas case in the Reference Collection contains books with historical and modern maps of countries, regions of the Earth, and space
Map room The map room is located on the third floor of the library. Government-produced maps are filed in drawers.

Statistics
LexisNexis Gallop Poll News A polling-based news source with articles published each business analyzing trends in social issues, politics, business, and lifestyles
Links to local, state, national, international statistics