English
Databases
Search the starred databases all at once:
Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides
full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed
titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals,
and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on
a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier*
JStor
Service = JStor
An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
JStor*
Literature Online
Service = ProQuest
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 197 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Online*
MLA Bibliography
Service = OCLC
Covering the subjects of literature, language, linguistics and folklore, MLA Bibliography provides over one million citations for items from journals and series published worldwide. It indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies, each record containing a bibliographic citation for a journal article, book, or other item including information about the libraries that own the library resources.
MLA Bibliography
NoveList
Service = EBSCO
NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, and annotations for over 135,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists. For school media specialists and teachers there are Picture Book Extenders and articles on Teaching with Fiction.
NoveList
Selected eBooks
Credo Reference: Language
Service = Credo Reference formerly Xrefer
Search resources related to Language in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference: Language
Middle & Junior High Core Collection
Service = HW Wilson
This catalog provides indispensable help with collection development and maintenance, curriculum support, selection and purchasing, readers' advisory, and general reference for readers grades 5-9. Includes entries for nonfiction works, fiction and collections for children and adolescents, plus review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. The Core Collection also includes entries for recommended CD-ROMs. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available.
Middle & Junior High Core Collection
Senior High Core Collection
Service = HW Wilson
A selective list of books recommended for grades 9-12 will prove invaluable for collection development and maintenance, readers' advisory, and curriculum support in the high school library. More than 10,000 entries for fiction and nonfiction works, as well as recommended CD-ROMs, offer listings of review sources and other aids for librarians and school media specialists. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available.
Senior High Core Collection
Other Resources
Class Guides
Websites
Research Aids
Citation & Format Guides
APA /
MLA
Dictionaries
Tips & Tutorials