Selected Websites


4Teachers: Educator's Resources
From equity and bilingual education to grants and educational journals, these multifaceted pages will guide you to all the top resources you'll need.

About the Distance Education Clearinghouse
Helpful ideas and programs; "bringing together distance education information from Wisconsin, national, and international sources"

AfterSchool.gov | A U.S. Government Web Portal
Provides links for community service opportunities, online activities for kids after school, and homework help.

Americans United for Separation of Church and State
Americans United for Separation of Church and State

APPitic - 1,300 + EDUapps
APPitic is a directory of apps for education by Apple Distinguished Educators (ADEs) to help you transform teaching and learning. These apps have been tested in a variety of different grade levels, instructional strategies and classroom settings.

Association for Middle Level Education
The National Education Association dedicated to middle level education. It includes research summaries focused on middle level education.

CEA Home Page
The association and website provides resources and links for those involved in the teaching ministry.

Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
A continuously updated, multidisciplinary database of nearly 10,000 resources including journal articles, books, research reports, grey literature, government documents, and more.

ChildCare.gov | A U.S. Government Web Portal
Designed to provide information to child care providers. The website also includes a section of parenting resources.

CitizenLink.com - a Focus on the Family Affiliate
Family issues in policy and culture sponsored by Focus on the Family

Common Core State Standards
This website offers valuable information regarding what the Common Core Standards are, why they were adopted, and how to apply them in the classroom.

Concept to Classroom
Concept to Classroom: A Series of Workshops provides the teacher with free workshops over "hot" topics such as assessment, cooperative and collaborative learning, etc.

Curriculum Revitalization
The mission of this web site resource is to enhance the instructional program improvement of career and technical education (CTE) programs throughout Illinois by aligning lessons with the Illinois Learning Standards, content-specific National Standards, Workplace Skills, and Occupational Skills Standards.

Digital Librarian: Education
An alphabetical list that includes links to professional organizations and free resources

ED.gov
Public Law 105-17: IDEA

Education Portals' Free Online College Course Catalog and Videos
Secondary Education Resource - Watch fun & engaging lessons taught by world-class educators. When ready, pass an exam and earn real college credit that is accepted by 2,900 colleges. Use to CLEP out of Gen-Ed requirements and save money!

Education World: The Educator's Best Friend
The site has lesson planning ideas, professional development learning material, ideas and concerns for administrators, ideas for integrating technology, and articles about school issues.

ETS Home
Information about GRE, GMAT, TOEFL and other ETS tests.

FBI - Parent Guide to Internet Safety
Publication for parents whose children spend unmonitored time on the Internet from the FBI

Google Books
This site can help find any book a teacher may be seeking. There is an advanced book search included to help you find it.

HighWire
A free online site presenting extensive information on algebraic, functional, ordinary differential, partial differential, integral, and other mathematical equations

Illinois Certification Testing System (ICTS) Home Page
This is the site at which ED majors sign up for the three major tests before getting their certificate.

Internet Crimes Against Children
Publication for parents whose children spend unmonitored time on the Internet from the Department of Justice

ipl2: Information You Can Trust
Includes quality websites covering a variety of subject areas maintained by a team of librarians.

Kraus Curriculum Development Library for educators
A database of curricula, frameworks, and standards that brings together educational objectives, content, instructional strategies, and evaluative techniques for all subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education.

Learner.org
Annenberg Media is a Teacher Professional Development site for teachers which has a wide variety of instructional videos that are free and do not require membership or money. "Videos On Demand" requires sign up, but no money is involved.

Library of Congress - For Teachers
Contains over 7 million historical documents, photographs, maps, films, and audio files for teachers

Membership, policy, and professional development for educators
The Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development also produces Educational Leadership.

NAEP - Scheduled Reading Assessments, Trends, Methods
National Assessment of Educational Progress from the National Center for Education Statistics

National Association for the Education of Young Children | NAEYC
The world's largest organization working on behalf of young children (birth-8 years). It includes research and reports on early childhood development and education.

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
Provides information about the organization as well as access to publications, announcements of career opportunities, and press releases. Sample articles from current and back issues of Teaching Children Mathematics, Mathematics.

National Geographic - Inspiring People to Care About the Planet
This site offers information about animals, history, maps, news, social studies topics, photos, videos, world music, etc. The site offers free newsletters.

National Opinion Research Center (NORC)
Offers a full range of data collection, information systems, and analytic capabilities.

NEA - NEA Home
This site provides resources to help teachers find jobs, school for professional development, mentors, and different kinds of certification.

nsf.gov - National Science Foundation
The site can help you find funding for different science topics. It includes resources for teachers so they can create lesson plans.

NSTA - Science & Education Resources
The National Science Teachers Association is committed to promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all. It includes free resources in a preservice and new teachers portal.

Open Culture
Get free online courses from the world’s leading universities. This collection includes over 650 free courses in the liberal arts and sciences. Download these audio & video courses straight to your computer or other device. Also, you can find a new collection of certificate-bearing courses here.

Parenting Resources | USA.gov
Find health, education, safety, child care, and other resources for parents and grandparents.

Parents - ED.gov
Provides information from the U.S. Department of Education for parenting.

PBS Teachers | Resources for the Classroom
PBS Teachers provides thousands of lesson plans, interactive games and simulations, maps, photos, essays and more on all major educational topics. The PBS Teachers site includes PBS TeacherLine, a special service offering more than 100 high-quality online professional development courses.

Responsive Classroom
A widely used, research-backed approach for educators to create a safe, challenging, and joyful classroom.

Student Education Association - "Professionals Influencing Lives
The Student Education Association of Olivet Nazarene University exists to provide opportunities, both on and off campus, for undergraduate students seeking a degree in education.

Supreme Court of the United States
This site maybe used to find out what the Supreme Court decides on certain education laws or lawsuits.

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act (NCLB Act of 2001)
Public Law 107-110 signed on January 8, 2002

Title IX, Education Amendments of 1972
Education law

U.S. Department of Education
U.S. Dept. of Education site provides resources for students, teachers, parents and administrators.

U.S. FDA - For Kids
Contains links to health and safety sites for parents.

Usable Knowledge from Harvard Graduate School of Education
Information and guidance regarding leadership and policy, learning and development, decisions through data, community and family, and teaching and curriculum.

Verizon Foundation: Thinkfinity
Features of interest and usefulness to teachers: Thinkfinity has many resources for all ages for in the classroom as well as at home activities. There are lesson plans, links to other valuable websites, interactive activities and sources for teachers’ personal professional development.

Walch Education: Teachers
Excellent books for all levels are available for your classroom through Walch Education!

Yahoo! Education - Dictionary, Colleges, Scholarships, Homework
Includes a wide variety of topics from items of interest to kindergarten teachers to locating a graduate school.

Submit a question or suggest a link.