Education: Secondary
Databases
AP Images
Service = Associated Press
Primary source database that takes users on a sensory journey of photographs, audio, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. Over 2 million photographs dating back 1826, more than 1 million sound bites dating from the 1920's, 2 million AP news stories from 1997, and collections of maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and illustrations are included. Updated with more than 3 thousand photos daily.
AP Images
EBSCO Animals
Service = EBSCO
EBSCO's Encyclopedia of Animals offers indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Some full text records include image links.
EBSCO Animals
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Service = EBSCO
Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains images, brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
GreenFILE
Service = EBSCO
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
GreenFILE
MAS Ultra School Edition
Service = EBSCO
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 84,774 biographies and 100,554 primary source documents. It contains more than 350 reference books, an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps, flags and color PDFs, and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
MAS Ultra School Edition
TeachingBooks.net
Service = TeachingBooks.net
TeachingBooks.net provides original, in-studio movies of authors and illustrators and a wealth of multimedia resources on K-12 books that generate enthusiasm for books and reading.
TeachingBooks.net
Selected eBooks
Senior High Core Collection
Service = HW Wilson
A selective list of books recommended for grades 9-12 will prove invaluable for collection development and maintenance, readers' advisory, and curriculum support in the high school library. More than 10,000 entries for fiction and nonfiction works, as well as recommended CD-ROMs, offer listings of review sources and other aids for librarians and school media specialists. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available.
Senior High Core Collection
Other Resources
Class Guides
Websites
Research Aids
Citation & Format Guides
APA /
MLA
Dictionaries
Tips & Tutorials