Professional Resources
Databases
Search the starred databases all at once:
Education Research Complete
Service = EBSCO
Education Research Complete is a full-featured online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
Education Research Complete*
ERIC at ed.gov
Service = Eric at ed.gov
ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature indexed from 1966 to the present. ERIC also contains a growing collection of full-text materials in Adobe PDF format, including reports from the What Works Clearinghouse.
ERIC at eric.ed.gov
ERIC (FirstSearch)
Service = OCLC
Journal articles and reports in education. Contains annotated references to non-journal material issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
ERIC (FirstSearch)*
Library Literature
Service = OCLC
Indexes materials on libraries and information science, including records for selected library journals, books, conference proceedings, library school theses, pamphlets, and book reviews.
Library Literature
Professional Development Collection
Service = EBSCO
Designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles and contains more than 200 educational reports. The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in the Professional Development Collection dates as far back as 1965.
Professional Development Collection*
ProQuest Education Journals
Service = ProQuest
Gives users access to over 745 top educational publications, including nearly 600 of the titles in full text, covering not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Image articles include charts, tables, diagrams, and other graphical depictions.
ProQuest Education Journals*
Wilson Select Plus
Service = OCLC
Full text articles in science, humanities, education and business. Provides indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full-text periodical articles, many of which are linked to citations in other FirstSearch databases. Includes US and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines.
Wilson Select Plus
Selected eBooks
Encyclopedia of Education
Service = Thomson Gale
Intended to provide a comprehensive description of the enterprise of education both within the United States and throughout the world. Approximately 900 articles offer a view of the institutions, people, processes, and products found in educational practice.
Encyclopedia of Education
Kraus Curriculum
Service = KCDL (Kraus Curriculum Dev. Library)
A database of curricula, frameworks, and standards that brings together educational objectives, content, instructional strategies, and evaluative techniques for all subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education.
Kraus Curriculum
Middle & Junior High Core Collection
Service = HW Wilson
This catalog provides indispensable help with collection development and maintenance, curriculum support, selection and purchasing, readers' advisory, and general reference for readers grades 5-9. Includes entries for nonfiction works, fiction and collections for children and adolescents, plus review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. The Core Collection also includes entries for recommended CD-ROMs. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available.
Middle & Junior High Core Collection
Other Resources
Class Guides
Websites
Research Aids
Citation & Format Guides
APA /
MLA
Dictionaries
Tips & Tutorials