PHSC 110: Physical Science
for Elementary Teachers

Recommended Journals | Article Databases | Popular -v- Scholarly
Citation Information | Avoiding Plagiarism


Recommended Journals at Benner

Scholarly Popular
  • Physics Teacher
    Print: 1963-Current
    Fulltext 1963 - present in EJS
 
 
 
 
 
 

See if we have a print subscription to another title: Search by title
See if we have an online subscription to another title: Search by title or browse by topic


Article Databases

Use the links below to search for scholarly articles in education and science in our subscription databases.

Discipline and Description Recommended Databases
Education:
The premier database for education
ERIC (FirstSearch)
Professional development articles for teachers. Professional Development Collection
500+ full-text education journals. ProQuest Education Journals
Chemistry:
Access to over 30 ACS journals.
American Chemical Society
Engineering ScienceDirect
Health Care:
Covers nursing care, patient advice, clinical information, health.
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
Abstracted articles from medical journals. Medline
Physical Education:
Articles on sports medicine, kinesiology, recreation, fitness, sports equipment, etc.
Physical Education Index

For more databases, visit Databases & Guides.


Popular -v- Scholarly Sources

The most important differences are indicated in italic.

 
Scholarly Sources
Popular Sources
Appearance
  • Mostly text with some figures and tables
  • May have advertisements
  • Colorful
Audience
  • Scholars, students, practitioners
  • Lay people
Author
  • Scholars, researchers, practitioners (i.e. doctors)
  • Experts in their field!
  • Usually journalists
Editorial process
  • Professional editor reviews article
Structure
  • Articles have an extensive bibliography with complete references
  • Signed articles
  • Methods & results sections (tutorial on understanding the parts of a scholarly article)
  • May have incomplete references in body of text
  • May have signed articles
Samples
  • Newsweek
  • Scientific American
  • US News & World Report

Citation Information

Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) has excellent resources to describe these citation styles

  • APA - preferred style for Professor Skalac's assignment
  • MLA

Avoiding Plagiarism