Education K-12
Databases
AP Images Teacher Guides
Service = Associated Press
Primary source database that takes users on a sensory journey of photographs, audio, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. Over 2 million photographs dating back 1826, more than 1 million sound bites dating from the 1920's, 2 million AP news stories from 1997, and collections of maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and illustrations are included. Updated with more than 3 thousand photos daily. Just under the database search boxes, click on the "correlations" link. This takes you to state standards which are linked to specific images in the database.
AP Images Teacher Guides
Children's Core Collection
Service = HW Wilson
Children's Catalog is a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books and magazines for children from preschool through sixth grade, along with review sources and other professional aids for children's librarians and school media specialists.
Children's Core Collection
Children's Magazine Guide
Service = Children's Magazine Guide (CMG)
Children's Magazine Guide Online provides fast access to a wealth of carefully annotated citations of recent articles (fiction and nonfiction) from more than 65 children's magazines, plus Websites.
Children's Magazine Guide
EBSCO Animals
Service = EBSCO
EBSCO's Encyclopedia of Animals offers indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Some full text records include image links.
EBSCO Animals
Kids Search
Service = EBSCO
Kids Search is designed especially for youth in grades K-8. Includes 3 EBSCO databases: Primary Search, Newspaper Source, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia.
Kids Search
MAS Ultra School Edition
Service = EBSCO
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 84,774 biographies and 100,554 primary source documents. It contains more than 350 reference books, an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps, flags and color PDFs, and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
MAS Ultra School Edition
Middle & Junior High Core Collection
Service = HW Wilson
This catalog provides indispensable help with collection development and maintenance, curriculum support, selection and purchasing, readers' advisory, and general reference for readers grades 5-9. Includes entries for nonfiction works, fiction and collections for children and adolescents, plus review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. The Core Collection also includes entries for recommended CD-ROMs. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available.
Middle & Junior High Core Collection
NoveList K-8
Service = "EBSCO
NoveList K-8 allows you to discover the fiction titles that are popular with young readers as well as titles to use in the classroom. The NoveList Learning Center provides learning tools about how to meet the reading needs of students.
NoveList K-8
Primary Search
Service = EBSCO
Contains full text for nearly 70 popular elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator. Includes indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary and a collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags.
Primary Search
Searchasaurus
Service = EBSCO
Searchasaurus makes it easy for elementary school students to search by keyword or by simple topics of high interest to children to find the most useful search results. Includes the American Heritage Dictionary for Children, Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia, and an Image Collection of 235,000 images that illustrates the subjects of history, politics, animals, news, science, maps, cityscapes, landmarks, and entertainment. Also included is a visual search that uses circles for categories of results and squares for links to articles.
Searchasaurus
Senior High Core Collection
Service = H.W. Wilson
A selective list of books recommended for grades 9-12 will prove invaluable for collection development and maintenance, readers' advisory, and curriculum support in the high school library. More than 10,000 entries for fiction and nonfiction works, as well as recommended CD-ROMs, offer listings of review sources and other aids for librarians and school media specialists. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available.
Senior High Core Collection
TeachingBooks.net
Service = TeachingBooks.net
TeachingBooks.net provides original, in-studio movies of authors and illustrators and a wealth of multimedia resources on K-12 books that generate enthusiasm for books and reading.
TeachingBooks.net
Related Websites
Curriculum Center Resources
ONU Education Department
Government Sites
Selected Sites
Research Aids
Eric (First Search) Powerpoint