Education: Middle School
Databases
AP Images
Service = Associated Press
Primary source database that takes users on a sensory journey of photographs, audio, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. Over 2 million photographs dating back 1826, more than 1 million sound bites dating from the 1920's, 2 million AP news stories from 1997, and collections of maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and illustrations are included. Updated with more than 3 thousand photos daily.
AP Images
EBSCO Animals
Service = EBSCO
EBSCO's Encyclopedia of Animals offers indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Some full text records include image links.
EBSCO Animals
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Service = EBSCO
Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains images, brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
GreenFILE
Service = EBSCO
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
GreenFILE
Kids Search
Service = EBSCO
Kids Search is designed especially for youth in grades K-8. Includes 3 EBSCO databases: Primary Search, Newspaper Source, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia.
Kids Search
NoveList K-8
Service = "EBSCO
NoveList K-8 allows you to discover the fiction titles that are popular with young readers as well as titles to use in the classroom. The NoveList Learning Center provides learning tools about how to meet the reading needs of students.
NoveList K-8
TeachingBooks.net
Service = TeachingBooks.net
TeachingBooks.net provides original, in-studio movies of authors and illustrators and a wealth of multimedia resources on K-12 books that generate enthusiasm for books and reading.
TeachingBooks.net
Selected eBooks
Middle & Junior High Core Collection
Service = HW Wilson
This catalog provides indispensable help with collection development and maintenance, curriculum support, selection and purchasing, readers' advisory, and general reference for readers grades 5-9. Includes entries for nonfiction works, fiction and collections for children and adolescents, plus review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. The Core Collection also includes entries for recommended CD-ROMs. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available.
Middle & Junior High Core Collection
Other Resources
Class Guides
Websites
Research Aids
Citation & Format Guides
APA /
MLA
Dictionaries
Tips & Tutorials