Education K-12

Download The Blue Sheet (Benner Print Journals)

Databases

   AP Images
Service = EBSCO

Primary source database of photographs, audio, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. Over 2 million photographs dating back 1826, more than 1 million sound bites dating from the 1920’s, 2 million AP news stories from 1997, and collections of maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and illustrations are included. Updated with more than 3 thousand photos daily.
AP Images

   Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Service = EBSCO

Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains images, brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

   Kids Search
Service = EBSCO

Kids Search is designed especially for youth in grades K-8. Includes 3 EBSCO databases: Primary Search, Newspaper Source, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia.
Kids Search

   Primary Search
Service = EBSCO

Contains full text for nearly 70 popular elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator. Includes indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary and a collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags.
Primary Search

   Searchasaurus
Service = EBSCO

add
Searchasaurus

   Teaching Books.net
Service = TeachingBooks.net LLC

TeachingBooks.net provides original, in-studio movies of authors and illustrators and a wealth of multimedia resources on K-12 books that generate enthusiasm for books and reading.
Teaching Books.net

Selected eBooks

StarWalk eBook Trial

   All About an Hour
Service = Rosen Publishing

Rhyming verses that have been carefully translated and adapted for bilingual readers make learning about hours easy. Colorful photos reinforce the concept.
All About an Hour

   Animal Testing: Issues And Ethics
Service = Rosen Publishing

Because of the biological similarities between many animals and humans, scientists can learn about diseases, and find out how humans might react to medicines, cosmetics, chemicals, and other products by testing them on animals first. According to the Humane Society of the United States, more than twenty-five million animals are used in research, testing, and education each year. Readers learn about the various philosophies on animal testing, what tests are used, and how they are performed. The book presents the pros and cons of animal testing and some of the alternative methods to animal testing that scientists are developing today.
Animal Testing: Issues And Ethics

   Black American Biographies: The Journey of Achievement
Service = Rosen Publishing

From the abolitionists and civil rights leaders who struggled to secure basic freedoms to the scientists, entertainers, and public servants who have nurtured innovation in their respective fields, African Americans have broken critical barriers for every American. This volume profiles many of those individuals—from Frederick Douglass to Oprah Winfrey to Barack Obama—whose efforts and ideas continue to enrich the foundations of the nation.
Black American Biographies: The Journey of Achievement

   Bone And Muscle: Structure, Force, And Motion
Service = Rosen Publishing

The human body’s ability to withstand environmental factors and the physical stress of daily life is just as remarkable as its ability to overcome illness and injury. The organs and mechanisms that allow the human body to function are the subjects of this informative and insightful series. Covering everything from anatomy to physiology to the possible diseases and disorders of several major regions of the human form, these books allow students to learn in detail the systems that are germane to day-to-day activity. Diagrams and illustrations complement the text and help the reader visualize the workings of major organs and structures.
Bone And Muscle: Structure, Force, And Motion

   Crime Scene Investigators
Service = Rosen Publishing

Graphic Forensic Science: Crime Scene Investigators brings readers into the gritty world of crime scenes by illustrating the profession in graphic form via three real-life scenarios. The book is able to cover this secretive world by reproducing the aspect
Crime Scene Investigators

   Extreme Temperatures: Learning About Positive and Negative Numbers
Service = Rosen Publishing

Learning About Positive and Negative Numbers
Extreme Temperatures: Learning About Positive and Negative Numbers

   How the Stock Market Works
Service = Rosen Publishing

The stock market is something that school kids hear about every day—on the news, in class, at the dinner table. They probably know that it’s somehow closely related to the economy and economic good and bad times, but beyond vaguely sensing that the stock market is a sort of economic barometer, they may have little practical knowledge about what it is and how it works. This book provides both a broad overview of stock trading and a more fine-grained, "insider" perspective on the international buying and selling that both drives the economy and reflects its health, that both funds corporations and measures their performance, and that increasingly plays a central role in either wealth creation or wealth loss for ordinary American families. It’s essential reading for all young people who will soon be embarking on their adult lives and making crucial decisions about their own money.
How the Stock Market Works

   Kraus Curriculum Development Library (kcdlonline)
Service = Kraus Curriculum Development Library (kcdlonline)

A database of curricula, frameworks, and standards that brings together educational objectives, content, instructional strategies, and evaluative techniques for all subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education.
Kraus Curriculum Development Library (kcdlonline)

   Let's Draw Animals
Service = Rosen Publishing

The world is full of some amazing, colorful animals. Young artists will have a chance to learn how to put these diverse creatures on paper. This step-by-step guide will teach animal lovers and budding artists how to draw everything from bright parrots to patterned big cats with expert tips and advice on how to use color and pattern.
Let's Draw Animals

   Understanding Cholesterol
Service = Rosen Publishing

Cholesterol is in the blood and every cell of our bodies. The body uses cholesterol to form healthy, strong cell membranes, and to help make essential vitamins and hormones. A high level of cholesterol however, is not a good thing—especially in teens. They’ll be at increased risk for developing cardiovascular disease, along with diabetes and certain cancers if obese or overweight. This informative book provides teens with the detailed information they need to know about eating healthily, having good fitness levels and weight, and other factors that affect their health. Readers will learn about low-density lipoprotein and high-density lipoprotein, the risk factors of high cholesterol, checking their cholesterol levels, BMI, and how to manage stress.
Understanding Cholesterol

   What Do You Know About Atoms and Molecules?
Service = Rosen Publishing

Though they are far too small to be seen with a magnifying glass, much less with the naked eye, atoms and molecules make up every object we encounter. Readers will learn all about these tiny units of matter in this interesting book.
What Do You Know About Atoms and Molecules?