Library Guide for EDUC 376:
Teaching Diverse Populations

Disability research project l RtI group project
Multilingual & multicultural resources l Citation & plagiarism
[note: make the text above into anchored links for sections further down the page]

Disability research project

Recommended Web Resources

RtI group project

Article Databases

Database: Education Research Complete (EBSCO)



Subject Terms (SU):
  • Individual education programs
  • Education intervention
  • Education evaluation
  • Empirical research
  • Evidence-based education
  • Response to intervention

Database: ERIC (EBSCO)



Descriptors (DE):
  • Program evaluation
  • Data collection
  • Educational research
  • Evaluation research
  • Exceptional child research
  • Methods research
  • Research
  • Scientific research
Search the entire ERIC thesaurus

Database: ProQuest Education Journals 745+ top educational publications, including nearly all of the titles in fulltext. Information on hundreds of educational topics.






Recommended Web Resources

9 Factor Checklist: How to Evaluate Whether an Educational Intervention is Supported by Scientifically-Based Research


Multilingual & multicultural resources

Recommended Web Resources

Background Information About Disabilties

Reference books

[note: new order, newest ones first]
  • Early Childhood intervention: shapnig the future for children wiht special needs and their families(2011) Call Number: R 371.9 Ea76p
  • Encyclopedia of American disability history (2009) Call Number: R 362.4097303 En19b
  • The Praeger handbook of special education (2007)
    R 371.9 P883b
  • Children with disabilites in America: a historical handbook and guide (2006)
    R 362.4083 C437s
  • Annual statistics--Illinois Division of Disability and Behavioral Health Services (2005)
    R 362.209773 IL6a
  • Elementary education: a reference handbook [part of series, "Contemporary Eudcation Issues"](2005)
    R 372 H228e

Electronic Books

Credo Reference is an online collection of 200+ specialized sources in a variety of disciplines including law, medicine, social sciences, and psychology.
Encyclopedia of Education
Search the library catalog. Use the option "to limit to ebooks only."

Article Databases

Academic disciplines other than education (e.g.)nursing, psychology, sociology) may provide you with excellent descriptions of disabilities and their impact on family systems and school environments. Consider using one of these databases when exploring your disability:

Database

Description

Academic Search Premier A multi-disciplinary database with popular, trade, and scholarly journals.
Health Source Consumer Edition Full text, indexing and abstracts for 300+ periodicals. Also included in this database is searchable full text for nearly 1,100 health-related pamphlets.
PsycARTICLES Full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals linked to every record. Includes all articles from the journal issues indexed, as well as errata and letters to the editor.
SocINDEX with Full Text Most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.

Citation and plagiarism

Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL): APA guide: documenting electronic sources