Library Guide for EDUC 376:
Teaching Diverse Populations

Recommended Web Resources

Background Information About Disabilities

Reference books

Find more reference books for yourself in BLISweb by...

  • Clicking on "Quick Limit"
  • Choose "Reference"
  • Doing a Quick Search for one or two keywords that describe your disability

General Sources

  • Magill's medical guide
    R 610.3 M272c, 2005
  • Statistical handbook on the world's children
    R 305.23 K163s
Disability

  • The Praeger handbook of special education (2007)
    R 371.9 P883b
  • Children with disabilities in America: a historical handbook and guide (2006)
    R 362.4083 C437s
  • Learning disabilities
    R 371.926 L479k
  • Resources for people with disabilities and chronic conditions.
    R 362.4 R312r, 2002
  • Handbook of psychoeducational assessment : ability, achievement, and behavior in children
    R 370.15 H191a
  • Annual statistics--Illinois Division of Disability and Behavioral Health Services (2005)
    R 362.209773 IL6a
  • Elementary education : a reference handbook [part of series, "Contemporary Education Issues"]
    R 372 H228e
  • Students in discord : adolescents with emotional and behavioral disorders
    R 371.93 B66s
Other Topics:
Autism, Aspergers
Cognitive Disability
Deaf-blindness
Emotional Disturbance
English Language Learners
Hearing Impairment
Learning Disabilities
Orthopedic Impairments
Other Health Impairments, OHI (any long-term illness)
Traumatic Brain Injury
Visual Impairment

Electronic Books

Connect to ebrary to search our collection of online books.

Credo Reference is an online collection of 200+ specialized sources in a variety of disciplines including law, medicine, social sciences, and psychology.

Encyclopedia of Education

Article Databases

Professional Education Literature

Databases

Database

Description

Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
The ERIC digital library collection consists primarily of electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literature selected by ERIC from 1966 - 2003. Note: Free access to most recent content
World's largest index to journal articles and documents in education, containing 1,200,000+ citations. ERIC Thesaurus
Indexes materials on libraries and information science, including records for selected library journals, books, conference proceedings, library school theses, pamphlets, and book reviews.
For professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 600 full text journals. Most are available as PDF.
745+ top educational publications, including nearly 600 of the titles in full text. Information on hundreds of educational topics.
Full text articles in science, humanities, education and business. Includes US and International professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines.

Academic disciplines other than education (e.g. nursing, psychology , sociology) may provide you with excellent descriptions of disabilities and their impact on family systems and school environments. Consider using one of these databases when exploring your disability:

Database

Description

A multi-disciplinary database with popular, trade, and scholarly journals.
Articles about nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health. Publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing.
550+ scholarly full text journals, including 450+ peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Full text, indexing and abstracts for 300+ periodicals. Also included in this database is searchable full text for nearly 1,100 health-related pamphlets.
Full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals linked to every record. Includes all articles from the journal issues indexed, as well as errata and letters to the editor.
International material selected from periodicals since1887. Includes current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present.
Most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.

Journals

Fulltext

  • Wondering which journals we have available in fulltext? Use the "Get eJournal Fulltext" link from the library home page to search for a specific title.
  • Or, browse all of our education fulltext journals by navigating to the correct category:
    Get eJournal Fulltext > Social Sciences > Education (go to Social Sciences page and scroll to Education section)

Suggested journals

  • Educational Leadership
    Print subscription at Benner Library?: 10/1961-Current
    Fulltext: 10/01/1943 to present in Education Research Complete

  • Exceptionality
    Print subscription at Benner Library?: no print holdings. Use fulltext options (see below) or make an InterLibrary Loan request ILL@olivet.edu
    Fulltext: Exceptionality: the official journal of the Division for Research of the Council for Exceptional Children from 03/01/1993 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Premier

  • Intervention in School and clinic
    Print subscription at Benner Library?: [was Academic Therapy] 11/1990-Current
    Fulltext: 01/01/1994 to 03/31/2008 in Academic Search Premier

  • Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis
    Print subscription at Benner Library?: no print holdings. Use fulltext options (see below) or make an InterLibrary Loan request ILL@olivet.edu
    Fulltext:

  • Learning Disabilities Research and Practice
    Print subscription at Benner Library?: 01/1991-11/2006 Irreg; newest issues available online only
    Fulltext: 01/01/1999 to 09/30/2000 in Academic Search Premier and 02/01/2001 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Premier

  • Journal of Emotional and Behavioral Disorders
    Print subscription at Benner Library?: no print holdings. Use fulltext options (see below) or make an InterLibrary Loan request ILL@olivet.edu
    Fulltext: 01/01/1993 to 03/31/2008 in Academic Search Premier
  • Journal of Learning Disabilities
    Print subscription at Benner Library?: 01/1968-current Fulltext: from 01/01/1975 to 03/31/2008 in Academic Search Premier and Education Research Complete

  • Journal of Psychoeducational Assessment
    Print subscription at Benner Library?: no print holdings. Make an InterLibrary Loan request ILL@olivet.edu
    Fulltext: no fulltext available.

  • Journal of Special Education
    Print subscription at Benner Library?: Winter 1991-Current
    Fulltext: 03/01/1975 to 03/31/2008 in Academic Search Premier, and 04/01/1997 to present in ProQuest Education Journal

  • Journal of Special Needs Education
    Print subscription at Benner Library?: no print holdings. Use fulltext options (see below) or make an InterLibrary Loan request ILL@olivet.edu
    Fulltext: no fulltext available.

  • Psychology in the Schools
    Print subscription at Benner Library?: no print holdings. Use fulltext options (see below) or make an InterLibrary Loan request ILL@olivet.edu
    Fulltext: 01/01/1997 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Premier

Citation and plagiarism

Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL): APA guide: documenting electronic sources