EDU 210: Instructional Methods of Early Childhood Education

online catalogs | reference books | databases for reader's advisory | databases for kids
ILL | article databases | recommended websites

Preschool-Kindergarten Thematic Units

Online catalogs


Reference books for childrens' literature

To find more in BLISweb, click on "more limits" button, then choose "reference" location and "set limits"

  • A to zoo : subject access to children's picture books / Carolyn W. Lima, John A. Lima. 2001 Book
    Call Number: R 011.62 L628a, 2001


  • Adventuring with books : a booklist for pre-K-grade 6 / Amy A. McClure and Janice V. Kristo, editors, and the Committee to Revise the Elementary School Booklist ; with a foreword by Rudine Sims Bishop. 2002 Book
    Call Number: R 028.52 N2132a, 2002


  • AMERICAN WRITERS FOR CHILDREN SINCE 1960. POETS, ILLUSTRATORS, AND NONFICTION AUTHORS edited by Glenn E. Estes. 1987 Book
    Call Number: R 928.1 D561, v.61


  • Best books for children : preschool through grade 6. Supplement to the seventh edition / John T. Gillespie, Catherine Barr. 2003 Book
    Call Number: R 028.52 G412b, 2003, SuppL.


  • Books children love : a guide to the best children's literature / Elizabeth Laraway Wilson. 1987 Book
    Call Number: R 011.62 W692b


  • Books kids will sit still for 3 : a read-aloud guide / Judy Freeman. 2006 Book
    Call Number: R 011.6254 F877b, 2006


  • Collected perspectives : choosing and using books for the classroom / edited by Hughes Moir, Melissa Cain, Leslie Prosak-Beres. 1992 Book
    Call Number: R 028.5 C685m, 1992 Status: Available


  • Great books about things kids love : more than 750 recommended books for children 3 to 14 / Kathleen Odean. 2001 Book
    Call Number: R 011.62 Od2g Status: Available

Databases for reader's advisory

Children's Core Collection: Children's Catalog is a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books and magazines for children from preschool through sixth grade, along with review sources and other professional aids for children's librarians and school media specialists.

Children's Magazine Guide: Online provides fast access to a wealth of carefully annotated citations of recent articles (fiction and nonfiction) from more than 65 children's magazines, plus Websites.

NoveList K-8: Allows you to discover the fiction titles that are popular with young readers as well as titles to use in the classroom. The NoveList Learning Center provides learning tools about how to meet the reading needs of students.


Database for kids

EBSCO Animals: offers indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Some full text records include image links.

Kids Search: Designed especially for youth in grades K-8. Includes 3 EBSCO databases: Primary Search, Newspaper Source, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia.

Primary Search: Contains full text for nearly 70 popular elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator. Includes indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary and a collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags.

Searchasaurus: Makes it easy for elementary school students to search by keyword or by simple topics of high interest to children to find the most useful search results. Includes the American Heritage Dictionary for Children, Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia, and an Image Collection of 235,000 images that illustrates the subjects of history, politics, animals, news, science, maps, cityscapes, landmarks, and entertainment. Also included is a visual search that uses circles for categories of results and squares for links to articles.


InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

Articles

Books

Search for articles in our fulltext options Try Olivet's holdings: BLISweb
If it's not there, try our print journal holdings

Look in WorldCat

 

Still can't find it? Use ILL:

  1. Request a book or article through Interlibrary Loan
  2. Allow up to 2 weeks
  3. Send an email message from your Webmail account with complete citation information (and how you got the citation e.g. ERIC database).

Research paper

Library article databases

Service

Database

Description

EBSCO
The topics covered in this database include all levels of education and specialties, such as health, multilingual, and testing. There is full text for over 750 journals and over 100 books/monographs and conference papers. It includes a helpful visual search and many different limits to help you find relevant information.
ProQuest

Proquest Education Journals

Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics, this database covers almost 400 leading journals in the field. All articles have fulltext.
OCLC (FirstSearch)

ERIC

Journal articles (EJ) and reports (ED) in education. ERIC is a national information system sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education designed to provide ready access to education literature. The ERIC database is the world's largest index to journal articles and documents in education, containing over 1,200,000 citations. There is a slight real time lag and this database does not include the most recent material. It does however have the easiest search to use and does not have a complicated limits selection. It is perfect for the beginner at using databases.

OCLC (FirstSearch)

PsycINFO

While this database does include psychology as a main subject, its contents are much broader, expanding to include related disciplines such as nursing, sociology and education. It adds over 55,000 references annually through monthly updates and while your search will yield many more results than PsychArticles, full-text is not always available.


Recommended websites