EDUC 150:
History & Philosophy of Education

Education Literature at Benner Library

"The Blue Sheet"--Alphabetical list of education-related publications (print subscriptions at Olivet) .pdf file

All (print) Periodical Holdings at Benner Library, in all disciplines. Do a title search to see if we have a print subscription of the journal.

Article Databases

= This database demonstrated during class

Service

Database

Description

OCLC (FirstSearch)

 ERIC

Journal articles (EJ) and reports (ED) in education. ERIC is a national information system sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education designed to provide ready access to education literature. The ERIC database is the world's largest index to journal articles and documents in education, containing over 1,200,000 citations. There is a slight real time lag and this database does not include the most recent material. It does however have the easiest search to use and does not have a complicated limits selection. It is perfect for the beginner at using databases.
U.S. Government
ERIC (free access)
Public access to 1.1 million citations plus 10-years of full-text of ED. Very useful if no longer a student at ONU. This database allows you to search within your results to narrow down your topic, provides a thesaurus at the bottom of every search page, and displays your search criteria and results at the top of the page.
EBSCO
The topics covered in this database include all levels of education and specialties, such as health, multilingual, and testing. There is full text for over 750 journals and over 100 books/monographs and conference papers. It includes a helpful visual search and many different limits to help you find relevant information.
EBSCO
Designed for professional educators, provides a specialized collection of nearly 600 full text education journals from 1965 to the present (most in PDF), more than half of which are peer reviewed. There are indexes and abstracts for even more journals. There is a large selection of limits you can set to help you narrow your search and a brightly colored visual search to help you find the perfect article.
ProQuest

Proquest Education Journals

Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics, this database covers almost 400 leading journals in the field. All articles have fulltext.

APA Citation Style

APA Tutorials and Links

Example of basic from for periodicals from Purdue OWL:

Complete tutorial on using American Psychological Association (APA) Format from Purdue University Onine Writing Lab (OWL): all subtopics: Articles in Periodicals | Electronic Sources


Help

Visit the Curriculum Center during these hours:
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
No assistant available Noon - 1:00PM 10:00PM - Midnight Noon - 1:00PM
8:00PM - 10:00PM
03:00PM - 05:00PM


"Page created on September 16, 2004 by Jasmine Cieszynski, Instructional Services Librarian. Updated Sept. 22, 2009."