Related Links

About Benner

Page created by Jasmine Cieszynski on June 22, 2006. Last updated February 25, 2008.



Finding Dissertations

Click on a link below to go directly to the dissertation resource.
Click on "description" for a brief summary of the resource and, if available, search tips.

Subscription resources

Free resources*

Digital Dissertations
description & tips Digital Library and Archives description
WorldCat
description & tips Directory of Dissertations in Progress description
    Dissertation.com description

Free resources*

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology description
Abes: Agence Bibliographique de l'Enseignement Superieur description NDLTD - Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations description
Australian Digital Theses Program description PhdData: The Universal Index of Dissertations in Progress description
The British Library description Theses Canada Portal description
Center for Research Libraries | Foreign Doctoral Dissertations index description TREN: Theological Research Exchange Network description

*Please note, the free dissertation resources and descriptions listed here were compiled by Dr. John Jaeger, Reference Librarian, Dallas Baptist University, and shared with the Association of Christian Librarians on 7-27-2005.

 

Resource descriptions and search tips

Abes: Agence Bibliographique de l'Enseignement Superieur Citations to French dissertations.

Australian Digital Theses Program Provides both citation and full-text access to a few thousand theses and dissertations published in Australia.

The British Library Provides access to citations of theses from British universities (most doctoral theses from the early 1970s onward), from the United States (475,000 doctoral theses), and from Canada (several hundred doctoral theses from 1980 forward).

Center for Research Libraries 20,000 doctoral dissertations from outside of the United States and Canada are searchable from this site. Items can be ordered through ILL by students, faculty, and staff.

Cybertheses Allows access to citations of French dissertations from 1972 to the present.

Digital Dissertations: Allows online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database (over 1.5 million PhD dissertations and MA theses). Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available. If fulltext is not available search for the title in WorldCat.

Search tips: When the fulltext is available, an icon for Adobe Acrobat will be displayed on the search results screen.

  • Click on the "Free Download" button to initiate a request for fulltext
  • Enter your e-mail address
  • Click on "Download now" button
  • Wait a few minutes, then check your e-mail account for a message from "ProQuest PQDD" containing the .pdf of the dissertation

Digital Library and Archives Allows searching for citations and abstracts of over 6,700 theses and dissertations. Free full-text access is provided for over 4,500 of these items

Directory of Dissertations in Progress "The Directory contains 3,804 dissertations in progress at 170 academic departments in Canada and the U.S." This is a citation database of dissertations in progress in the area of history.

Dissertation.com The site has just a few hundred dissertations and theses in its collection, but the site allows free, full-text access to the first 25-pages of each item.

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology International database of citations for dissertations in musicology that contains over 12,000 records. Dissertations are from approximately 1950 to the present

NDLTD - Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Provides access to citations from thousands of digital dissertations and theses that are in PDF format. A significant number of these resources are freely available in full-text and can be viewed online.

PhdData: The Universal Index of Dissertations in Progress Has citations from several thousand dissertations in progress from various parts of the world.

Theses Canada Portal Provides access to bibliographic citations for all the theses in the National Library of Canada Theses Collection. Access to full-text theses is available for all items published between January 1, 1998 to August 31, 2002.

Theses Link Collection Gives links to dissertation/theses search sites in many different countries, including Austria, Germany, The Netherlands, Sweden, and Norway.

TREN: Theological Research Exchange Network Provides citations to 6,800 theological theses/dissertations and conference papers. Items can then be purchased through this site. The opening page actually states that they have 10,000 theses/dissertations, but the search page allows searching of 6,800 items.

WorldCat: Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records and includes records representing 400 languages.

Search tips:

  • Copy the title of the dissertation from a citation or other source
  • Past the dissertation title into the search box and change the drop down menu from "Keyword" to "Title"
  • Click on the "Search" button
  • Complete the request form and allow approximately 10-days for the request to be filled. If the item is not available, our ILL staff will contact you.