Selected Websites


Bureau of Justice Assistance
Provides funding, training, technical assistance, and information to States and communities in support of innovative programs to improve and strengthen the Nation's criminal justice system.

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
The statistical arm of the U.S. Department of Justice, responsible for collecting, analyzing, and reporting data related to criminal victimization and the administration of justice.

Committee on Oversight and Government Reform
The Subcommittee is responsible for authorizing legislation for the Office of National Drug Control Policy (also concerned with Criminal Justice)

Congress.org - Congressional Directory
Congressional, Senate, and House email directories.

COPS Office: Grants and Resources for Community Policing
Since 1994, OPS has used funding opportunities and innovative problem-solving programs to help the Nation's law enforcement agencies implement a locally defined vision of community policing.

CriminalJusticeUSA.com - Careers, Jobs and Degrees
100% free, non-commercial website that offers information on a variety of criminal justice careers.

Criminology.org
From the website's "About" page: "Criminology.com was created as an online informational resource for individuals looking to pursue criminology-related education and careers. We cover various topics ranging from what you can do with an criminology degree, links to related resources, and information about this specific field within the job market."

FBI Records: The Vault
"The Vault is (the FBI's) new electronic reading room, containing more than 3,000 documents that have been scanned from paper into digital copies so you can read them in the comfort of your home or office."

FBI Statistics - Expanded Offense Data
Using the Uniform Crime Reports, this expanded offense data offers trends, rates, weapons, and more for each offense listed. Each specific includes several tables to represent this data.

FBI Statistics - Violent Crimes
Using the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports, search for information on specific violent crimes or by one of the 11 options (such as national data, universities and colleges, & population group). There are also 25 data tables to visually represent this material.

ICPSR Web Site
Maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. Dates covered are from 1962-present.

Kankakee Helpbook: Description of Agency Services
County government and other area social agencies.

LII | Legal Information Institute at Cornell Law School
Supreme Court decisions, and other important legal materials federal, state, foreign, and international.

Michigan State University Libraries - Criminal Justice Resources
Scroll down to annotated links. List maintained by Criminal Justice Specialist at Michigan State University Libraries

National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Includes many online documents pertinent to criminal justice as well as WWW links and information about listservs.

National Institute of Justice: Criminal Justice Research, Develo
The research, development, and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice, whose mission is to provide objective, independent, evidence-based knowledge and tools to enhance the administration of justice and public safety.

NCPW - National Consumer Protection Week
A 'one-stop' link to a broad range of federal information resources available online.

NICIC.gov: National Institute of Corrections
An agency within the Federal Bureau of Prisons, NIC advances and shapes correctional practice and public policy by responding to the needs of corrections through assistance, collaboration, leadership, and training.

NORC
Offers a full range of data collection, information systems, and analytic capabilities.

ODS Search
The premier full-text web resource for official United Nations documentation. Search by Subject and Phrases under Advanced Search or Global Search. Using a Simple Search allows you to search by Symbol and Keywords. The Advanced Search is most preferred.

Office of Justice Programs
Funding, Training, Programs, Statistics and Research

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
Provides national leadership, coordination, and resources to prevent and treat juvenile delinquency, improve the effectiveness and fairness of the juvenile justice system, and address the problem of missing and exploited children.

Office of National Drug Control Policy
The national source for drug and crime statistics, drug policy, and related information.

Talk Justice
Contains more than 12,000 Criminal Justice site listings, hosted by Prentice Hall

United Nations Publications
Allows you to search their catalogues of over 4,800 titles by subject, keyword, title, ISBN, Publisher, Series, Department, Langauge, and Date. Once you find the a title of interest, use I-Share or WorldCat to look up and request specific items.

Welcome | HUD USER
The website of the Office of Policy Development and Research (PD&R) of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. Features information on Crime in relation to Housing and Urban Development

Submit a question or suggest a link.