Criminal Justice
Databases
Campus Research
Service = Thomson West
Provides students with access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources. It is divided into two content tabs, "News and Business" and "Law." An advanced search feature provides boolean search connectors such as AND and OR to further refine searches.
Campus Research
CQ Researcher
Service = CQ Press
The CQ Researcher Online contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Controversial topics are addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner in the CQ tradition.
CQ Researcher
CQ's Vital Statistics on American Politics Online Edition
Service = CQ Press
Vital Statistics on American Politics from 1788-2006. Covers a wide range of topics including data on elections, Congress, the presidency, the judiciary, the media, campaign finances, foreign, social, and economic policy, issues related to state and local government, votes cast and offices won, rankings of public officials' reputations, and public opinion data about policy issues.
CQ's Vital Statistics-American Politics
CQ Weekly
Service = CQ Press
Expert coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. Produced by the largest news team on Capitol Hill.
CQ Weekly
Criminal Justice Periodicals
Service = ProQuest
Comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. The database provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
Criminal Justice Periodicals
GPO Monthly
Service = OCLC
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Includes a bibliographic citation in each record.
GPO Monthly Catalog
Issues and Controversies
Service = Facts on Files News Service
Analyzes and explains controversial topics with balance and accuracy, probing hot public policy issues. Covers more than 70 controversial topics yearly; online access includes frequent updating, interviews with experts, statistical overviews of major issues, selected newspaper editorials, editorial cartoons, primary documents, a directory of contact organizations and curriculum/study aids.
Issues and Controversies
Journal of Homeland Security & Emergency Management
Service = Berkeley Electronic Press (bepress)
The Journal of Homeland Security and Emergency Management publishes peer-reviewed articles, news and communiqués from researchers and practitioners, and book/media reviews in the fields of engineering, political science, public administration, policy analysis, decision science, and health and medicine, as they relate to homeland security and emergency management.
Journal of Homeland Security & Emergency Management
JStor
Service = JStor
An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
JStor
Political Science
LexisNexis Legal Research
Service = Lexis Nexis
Use the Legal tab to search within law review journals, federal and state cases or codes, tax law, and international legislation.
LexisNexis Legal Research
Lexis Nexis People
Service = Lexis Nexis
Search for biographical information about individuals using the biographical search form.
LexisNexis People
Military & Government Collection
Service = EBSCO
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. It provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals plus full text for 245 pamphlets; it offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 alts. Many full text alts are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
Military & Government Collection
News Databases
Access to a variety of news databases both current and historical.
News Databases
Related Websites
Government Sites
Selected Sites
Research Aids
Using the Library Databases
APA Tutorials