CJUS 273: Criminology

Finding Books | Finding Articles | APA Citation Style | Help

Finding Books

    Library Catalog: Olivet's online catalog

    I-Share: shared catalog of 71 academic libraries in Illinois.

    WorldCat: Check the holdings or request books from libraries across the U.S. and from other nations

    Recommended Reference Books (Circulating books in 364-range are on 2nd-floor)

    1. Encyclopedia of criminology and deviant behavior
      Call Number: R 364.03 En19b


    2. Encyclopedia of crime and justice.
      Call Number: R 364.03 En19d, 2002


    3. American dictionary of criminal justice : key terms and major court cases
      Call Number: R 364.03 C358a, 2005


    4. Crime and the justice system in America : an encyclopedia
      Call Number: R 364.973 C868sc


    5. Dictionary of crime : criminal justice, criminology & law enforcement
      Call Number: R 364.03 D561n, 1992

    Finding Articles

    1. Fulltext eJournals: See if we have the journal in full-text
    2. See if we have the journal in print (do a title search)
    3. Interlibrary Loan (Make a request if Olivet doesn't have the journal. Send complete citation from your ONU e-mailaccount)


    When you click on a database, if you see this message, choose "continue to this website"

    Database Name

    Description

    Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Premier is designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. Note: I found many "false-hits" when doing keyword searches.
    Wiley Online Library It holds the full-text articles of over 850 journals. The subjects covered range across Medicine, Science, Social Science and the Humanities.
    CQ Researcher Contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Controversial topics are addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner in the Congressional Quarterly tradition.
    CQ's Vital Statistics on American Politics Online Edition Vital Statistics on American Politics from 1788-2006. Covers a wide range of topics including data on elections, Congress, the presidency, the judiciary, the media, campaign finances, foreign, social, and economic policy, issues related to state and local government, votes cast and offices won, rankings of public officials' reputations, and public opinion data about policy issues.
    Criminal Justice Periodicals Comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. The database provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
    History Study Center History Study CenterT includes over 40,000 documents of historical reference material from ancient times through today's current events. This database consists of seven integrated resources that can be cross-searched through a single interface: 1) Study Units-500+ Study Units containing 30-80 items; 2) Reference Works-20,000+ articles from atlases, biographical collections, encyclopedias, and research guides; 3) Picture Library-3,000+ captioned historical photos, political cartoons, woodcuts; 4) Video Library-hundreds of historical video clips, captioned for context and searching; 5) Web Gateway-annotated links to thousands of reliable web sites, from the major primary source collections down to individual pages; 6) KnowledgeNotesT History Guides-text-based topic guides about trends, events, and the science of history; and 7) Journal Library-cover-to-cover full text of 60 journals.
    Issues and Controversies Analyzes and explains controversial topics with balance and accuracy, probing hot public policy issues. Covers more than 70 controversial topics yearly; online access includes frequent updating, interviews with experts, statistical overviews of major issues, selected newspaper editorials, editorial cartoons, primary documents, a directory of contact organizations and curriculum/study aids.
    Issues and Controversies Peer-reviewed articles, news and communiqués from researchers and practitioners, and book/media reviews in the fields of engineering, political science, public administration, policy analysis, decision science, and health and medicine, as they relate to homeland security and emergency management.
    Military & Government Collection Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. It provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals plus full text for 245 pamphlets; it offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
    PsycARTICLES Full-text articles in general and specialized psychology. Includes all articles from the journal issues indexed, as well as errata and letters to the editor. Indexes selected U.S., Canadian and European psychology journals.
    PsycINFO Psychology and related fields since 1806. including international material from periodicals written in over 25 languages. Includes current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present.
    SocINDEX This research database offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, and violence.
    Westlaw Classic Campus Research Provides students with access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources. It is divided into two content tabs, "News and Business" and "Law." An advanced search feature provides boolean search connectors such as AND and OR to further refine searches.

    APA Citation Style

    Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format (Updated to 5th Edition) from, Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)


    Help

    Use University of Minnesota Libraries’ Assignment Calculator to give yourself mini-deadlines.

    Contact the Reference Desk: e-mail, 815.939.5355, hours or IM the Reference librarian.
    • Click on the image to the right to begin chatting

    Page created October 3, 2007 by Jasmine Cieszynski. Last updated January 29, 2008.