Selected Websites


::: illinois data :::
This page includes crime indexes, crime rates and law enforcement personnel in Illinois. It would be helpful in stories about Illinois crime or communities

AccessMedicine | Features
Any Medical issues, healthcare problems, and solutions, expert resources.

All Law-Legal Help-Legal Services-Legal Advice-Law Documents-Leg
This website gives information concerning all aspects of law such as finding a lawyer, researching a legal topic, and finding journals that relate to a particular topic.

AllExperts Questions & Answers
This website details a variety of experts with a search engine and different categorized topics. This site would be helpful in finding expert opinions and commentary.

American Journalism Review
AJR is a print magazine, but their online site contains news, news sources, helpful research and writing tools, and even AJR archives. Good for investigative reports, hard news articles, or even just basic writing tips.

AssignmentEditor.com® - The Newsroom Home Page


Auto Theft
This site provides information regarding auto theft including statistics and currents news articles.

Basic Search - ProQuest
This database consists of U.S. and international articles on business and management.

Census Bureau Home Page
This site includes all the information taken from the current and past censuses. Information can be downloaded as Excel files. This site is useful in any story related to statistics – who lives where, trends in living, etc.

Childstats.gov - Home
This website provides statistics and reports on families, children, health issues, economic issues, and many other issues that plague the American family.

data.nicar.org
"Founded in 1989, NICAR has trained thousands of journalists in the practical skills of finding, prying loose and analyzing electronic information." (Site recommended by Gregg Chenoweth)

Fairness & Accuracy In Reporting (FAIR)
Fairness & accuracy in reporting

Families USA: The Voice for Health Care Consumers
This site breaks down difficult medical information for the consumer, on all issues such as insurance, physicians and prescriptions that consumers invest time and money into.

Free Press | Media reform through education, organizing and advo


Global Investigative Journalism Network |
Here, one can find contact information for many investigative reporters who have focused on a wide variety of topics (Abortion, agriculture, media ethics and much, much more). This site would be useful for gaining insight from an expert journalist in almost any type of story, especially those requiring an international perspective.

Global Issues : social, political, economic and environmental is
This website provides information concerning global issues such as poverty, human rights, trade issues, and many more.

Grover Furr's Journalism and Media Criticism Page


GuideStar nonprofit reports and Forms 990 for donors, grantmaker
"Our vision is to create an interactive 'marketplace of information' that connects nonprofit organizations, donors, foundations, and businesses. This connection will serve as the backbone of a more effective, efficient and well-informed nonprofit sector"

Home - ClinicalTrials.gov
Linking patients to medical research.

Illinois General Assembly Home Page
This is the official website of the Illinois General Assembly containing information about state Senate and House members, legislation, and additional resources. Good for an article regarding political/legislative matters or for basic General Assembly information (i.e. members of the House and Senate).

Illinois Municipal League
This site contains easily accessed information about local municipalities in the state of Illinois, mostly news stories. It is a great resource for any story regarding a local community you are working in.

Illinois Office of the Comptroller
Explains local governments in Illinois, annual financial reports and internet filing.Students researching financial matters and TIFs would benefit.

Illinois State Police Home Page
This site includes crime information, employment opportunities with the department, and traffic information. It would be helpful in stories about Illinois crime, traffic and police.

IRE


JournalismJobs.com -- The Job Board for Media Professionals


Lawyer, Lawyers, Attorney, Attorneys, Law, Legal Information - F
This site details lawyers, legal cases, legal news, cases and codes. Students looking into legal cases and the latest news on lawsuits would benefit from this site.

Lawyers Find A Lawyer, Law Firm, Attorney & Legal Services: mart
Lawyer searches by practice, type, firm, name and city.

LISTSERV 15.5 - AEJMC List at LIST.MSU.EDU
Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communications Conference Papers (Site recommended by Gregg Chenoweth)

Lobbyist Services
This site is provided by the State of Illinois and contains resources to register as a lobbyist, find information on lobbying in Illinois, and a list of every lobbyist in Illinois including the company he or she works for or represents and a phone number where he or she can be contacted.

Muckraker
This site offers a variety of previously conducted investigations, tools for reporters, internship opportunities and more. This site may help with investigations related to Social and Criminal Justice, Environment and Science and Technology.

myYearbook
This site offers contact information on a wealth of experts on just about every imaginable topic and provides a query to aid in contacting them. The site may help with virtually any type of story, including just about everything from foreign policy to the weather.

Newspapers of the World - Newslink
A list of college newpapers and links to college publications throughout the nation

Poynter. | Standing for journalism, strengthening democracy | Jo


Project for Excellence in Journalism (PEJ) | Understanding News
Affiliated with the The Project for Excellence in Journalism, an initiative by journalists to clarify and raise the standards of American journalism.

religion online
Highly valuable resource with stories and accounts from a Christian perspective looking at many Christian issues.

Reporter.org
This site has search engines for finding beat resources. Students covering a wide range of topics such as hospitals, traffic, etc. would benefit from this site.

Robert Niles' Journalism Help: Finding Data on the Internet
Robert Niles started with an online tutorial showing other journalists how to use math and data, then branched out to niche sites on theme parks and classical music

SEJ
This site covers a wide variety of information on environmental issues, providing tip sheets and links. This site would be useful for a story on water, waste, or other environmental issues.

Society of Professional Journalists


Southern Poverty Law Center
This website is an example of one area’s goal of reducing poverty. Students covering nationwide poverty statistics would find help from this site.

State and County QuickFacts
Statistical information is easily accessible and broken down at the local level.

State of Illinois Home : Home
Contains state information relating to government, finance, news and much more. Anyone writing a story about state issues or government would find it helpful.

Stats about all US cities - real estate, relocation info, house
This site includes information about every town and city in the U.S. It includes median household income, median house value, crime rates, population, and nearby cities. This site is helpful in any story that needs city statistics.

STRYVE - Striving To Reduce Youth Violence Everywhere
Quick facts and statistics designed for press use on youth violence and criminal statistics.

The Doctors Company | Medical Malpractice Insurance
Information on coverage benefits for doctors and political advocates of coverage.

The National Bureau of Economic Research


U of Iowa: Journalism and Mass Communication Resources
Annoted links on Associations, Working Journalist's Resources, CyberJournalism, Gender and Race in Mass Communication, Media Law Resources, Copyright, 1st Amendment and Freedom of Expression, and other topics. Maintained by Karla Tonella Academic Technologies Specialist, former instructor and radio station program director

WCP&J The Washington Center for Politics & Journalism - The Poli


Welcome to the IFEJ.org
This site provides environmentally related tip sheets, contact information, and more. This site would be useful for investigations regarding environmental concerns such as waste and water issues.

Who Owns What | Columbia Journalism Review
Similar to reporter.org, CJR has links to resources for journalists, links to thousands of newspapers, magazines etc. online, and even a link to finding journalism jobs. Perfect for anyone doing in-depth research, especially if searching for related articles to a topic.

Submit a question or suggest a link.