Selected Web Sites
Business, Economics, and Management
ABI Inform
This database consists of U.S. and international articles on business and management.
Capital IQ
One can view in-depth profiles of public and private firms worldwide including financial comparables, officers, securities, filings, transactions, and credit ratings.
National Bureau of Economic Research
This website has information on all current and past economic issues and it provides researchers with information about articles and books that could be useful to their research.
PRIMEDIA Business Magazines and Media
This site consists of business and media articles and information for a vast variety of industries, ranging from agriculture to waste and environment. This site would provide collateral information for an investigation that focuses on a particular industry.
The World Bank
This website focuses on data, research, and prospects of economic issues nationally and globally as it provides articles and resources to providing information.
Census
2000 Census.org
This site offers much census information, including articles, a census listserv to help with raw data and mapping, a census release schedule, NICAR databases, census tip sheets and more. This site may be for useful for investigations requiring a population comparison or population information in general.
City Data
This site includes information about every town and city in the U.S. It includes median household income, median house value, crime rates, population, and nearby cities. This site is helpful in any story that needs city statistics.
Experts
American Journalism Review
Society of Professional Journalists
AllExperts
This website details a variety of experts with a search engine and different categorized topics. This site would be helpful in finding expert opinions and commentary.
Find Law
This site details lawyers, legal cases, legal news, cases and codes. Students looking into legal cases and the latest news on lawsuits would benefit from this site.
Yearbook.com: Yearbook of Experts Online
This site offers contact information on a wealth of experts on just about every imaginable topic and provides a query to aid in contacting them. The site may help with virtually any type of story, including just about everything from foreign policy to the weather.
Family
Forum on Child and Family Statistics
This website provides statistics and reports on families, children, health issues, economic issues, and many other issues that plague the American family.
Global Issues that Affect Everyone
This website provides information concerning global issues such as poverty, human rights, trade issues, and many more.
National Youth Violence Prevention Resource Center
Quick facts and statistics designed for press use on youth violence and criminal statistics.
Journalism
FAIR: Fairness & accuracy in reporting
Freepress
Freedom of Information Center
Investigative Reporters and Editors
Journalism and Media Criticism
Journalism Student Research Links
Journalism Resources
Annoted links on Associations, Working Journalist's Resources, CyberJournalism, Gender and Race in Mass Communication, Media Law Resources, Copyright, 1st Amendment and Freedom of Expression, and other topics. Maintained by Karla Tonella Academic Technologies Specialist, former instructor and radio station program director
Journalism.org
Affiliated with the The Project for Excellence in Journalism, an initiative by journalists to clarify and raise the standards of American journalism.
National Institute for Computer-Assisted Reporting
"Founded in 1989, NICAR has trained thousands of journalists in the practical skills of finding, prying loose and analyzing electronic information." (Site recommended by Gregg Chenoweth)
Online Journalism Review
Published by USC Annenberg School for Communication, "Committed to covering the full range of journalistic issues in online and print media" (Site recommended by Gregg Chenoweth)
Archives of AEJMC@LIST.MSU.EDU
Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communications Conference Papers (Site recommended by Gregg Chenoweth)
Guidestar.org
"Our vision is to create an interactive 'marketplace of information' that connects nonprofit organizations, donors, foundations, and businesses. This connection will serve as the backbone of a more effective, efficient, and well-informed nonprofit sector."
Robert Niles' Journalism Help: Finding Data on the Internet
Robert Niles started with an online tutorial showing other journalists how to use math and data, then branched out to niche sites on theme parks and classical music
U. of Iowa journalism resources
One stop shop database for journalism links
Nat’l Institute for Computer Assisted Reporting
Newslink.org
A list of college newpapers and links to college publications throughout the nation
Poynter Institute for Media Studies
American Journalism Review
AJR is a print magazine, but their online site contains news, news sources, helpful research and writing tools, and even AJR archives. Good for investigative reports, hard news articles, or even just basic writing tips.
Columbia Journalism Review: Journalism Tools
Similar to reporter.org, CJR has links to resources for journalists, links to thousands of newspapers, magazines etc. online, and even a link to finding journalism jobs. Perfect for anyone doing in-depth research, especially if searching for related articles to a topic.
Global Investigative Journalism
Here, one can find contact information for many investigative reporters who have focused on a wide variety of topics (Abortion, agriculture, media ethics and much, much more). This site would be useful for gaining insight from an expert journalist in almost any type of story, especially those requiring an international perspective.
IRE’s Beat Source Guide
This site has search engines for finding beat resources. Students covering a wide range of topics such as hospitals, traffic, etc. would benefit from this site.
Muckraker
Center for Investigative Reporting This site offers a variety of previously conducted investigations, tools for reporters, internship opportunities and more. This site may help with investigations related to Social and Criminal Justice, Environment and Science and Technology.
Newslink
Newslink is basically a database type website with links to newspapers, magazines, and even radio/tv sites from the U.S. as well as around the world. Great for specific searches (i.e. specific state) or a general search (i.e. continents: Asia).
Reporter.org
This site lists several journalism organizations, resources, and publications. The site is helpful not only for finding information/data for articles but also for anyone wanting to join or find out about journalism organizations.
Legal
AllLaw
This website gives information concerning all aspects of law such as finding a lawyer, researching a legal topic, and finding journals that relate to a particular topic.
Auto-Theft.Info
This site provides information regarding auto theft including statistics and currents news articles.
Clinicaltrials.gov
This website searches through medical cases and finds research that pertains to particular topics.
MartinDale
Lawyer searches by practice, type, firm, name and city.
National Insurance Crime Bureau
This site provides information regarding NICB’s non for profit organization that helps prevent against car theft and insurance fraud.
Medical
Access Medicine
Any Medical issues, healthcare problems, and solutions, expert resources.
Families USA: The Voice for Healthcare Consumers
This site breaks down difficult medical information for the consumer, on all issues such as insurance, physicians and prescriptions that consumers invest time and money into.
img src="/pubserv/guides/communication/journalism/infopix5/IJS.gif" width="35" height="35" />
The Doctor's Company
Information on coverage benefits for doctors
and political advocates of coverage.
Organizations
Census Data
This site includes all the information taken from the current and past censuses. Information can be downloaded as Excel files. This site is useful in any story related to statistics – who lives where, trends in living, etc.
International Federation of Environmental Journalists (IFEG)
This site provides environmentally related tip sheets, contact information, and more. This site would be useful for investigations regarding environmental concerns such as waste and water issues.
Society of Environmental Journalists
This site covers a wide variety of information on environmental issues, providing tip sheets and links. This site would be useful for a story on water, waste, or other environmental issues.
Southern Poverty Law Center
This website is an example of one area’s goal of reducing poverty. Students covering nationwide poverty statistics would find help from this site.
Religion and Media
Religion Online
Highly valuable resource with stories and accounts from a Christian perspective looking at many Christian issues.
Steve Scott's Guide to Religion and Media
4 page .pdf file which includes North American centers for study of religion and media; Other studies of centers for religion (not media); Online resources: media, religion, and journalism; and Undergraduate and Graduate religion programs
State of Illinois
Cyber Drive Illinois -Lobbyist Services
This site is provided by the State of Illinois and contains resources to register as a lobbyist, find information on lobbying in Illinois, and a list of every lobbyist in Illinois including the company he or she works for or represents and a phone number where he or she can be contacted.
a href="http://www.wh1.ioc.state.il.us/QuickTake/Grants/" target="_blank">Daniel W. Hynes Comptroller- Grants
This site specifically details state grants budgeted by the state of Illinois. Students researching local governments, school districts or agencies would benefit from this site.
George H. Ryan, Governor
This site indicates a $12 billion project created by Gov. Ryan called Illinois FIRST. This site is helpful if researching road projects and economic development plans.
Illinois Data.com: Crime Stats
This page includes crime indexes, crime rates and law enforcement personnel in Illinois. It would be helpful in stories about Illinois crime or communities.
Illinois General Assembly
This is the official website of the Illinois General Assembly containing information about state Senate and House members, legislation, and additional resources. Good for an article regarding political/legislative matters or for basic General Assembly information (i.e. members of the House and Senate).
Illinois Local Government Online
This site contains easily accessed information about local municipalities in the state of Illinois, mostly news stories. It is a great resource for any story regarding a local community you are working in.
Illinois State Police
This site includes crime information, employment opportunities with the department, and traffic information. It would be helpful in stories about Illinois crime, traffic and police.
Local Government
Explains local governments in Illinois, annual financial reports and internet filing.Students researching financial matters and TIFs would benefit.
State and County Quick Facts
Statistical information is easily accessible and broken down at the local level.
Suburban Chicago Newspapers – Illinois Crime
This site contains crime statistics in IL by county. It would be helpful in stories comparing crime among IL counties.
State
of Illinois Website
Contains state information relating to government, finance, news and much more. Anyone writing a story about state issues or government would find it helpful.