Journalism

Databases

  Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier

  Access Science
Service = McGraw Hill

A collection of online science reference materials with access to all the articles, fully illustrated with thousands of illustrations, from the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Includes the latest Science News® headlines and biographies.
Access Science

  American National Biography
Service = Oxford University Press

The ANB Online is updated with new biographies quarterly and includes features and materials not available in the print edition including illustrations, internal cross-references within the biographies, and links to external online resources.
American National Biography

  AP Images
Service = Associated Press

Primary source database that takes users on a sensory journey of photographs, audio, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. Over 2 million photographs dating back 1826, more than 1 million sound bites dating from the 1920's, 2 million AP news stories from 1997, and collections of maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and illustrations are included. Updated with more than 3 thousand photos daily.
AP Images

  ArticleFirst
Service = OCLC

An OCLC FirstSearch multidisciplinary index of articles over 16,000 journals. It also provides a list of libraries that have the journal title for most journal issues.
ArticleFirst

  Communication and Mass Media
Service = EBSCO

A research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected coverage of over 230 more. Includes full text for more than 240 journals.
Communication and Mass Media

  Chronicle of Higher Education
Service = The Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and job listings for people in academe; the website articles date from September 1989; also contains vibrant discussion forums, career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
Chronicle of Higher Education

  CQ Researcher
Service = CQ Press

The CQ Researcher Online contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Controversial topics are addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner in the CQ tradition.
CQ Researcher

  ECO
Service = OCLC

An OCLC collection of scholarly journals. Includes full text of all the original content and images of articles as well as the bibliographic information for all journals.
ECO

  Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Service = EBSCO

Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains images, brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

  Issues and Controversies
Service = Facts on Files News Service

Analyzes and explains controversial topics with balance and accuracy, probing hot public policy issues. Covers more than 70 controversial topics yearly; online access includes frequent updating, interviews with experts, statistical overviews of major issues, selected newspaper editorials, editorial cartoons, primary documents, a directory of contact organizations and curriculum/study aids.
Issues and Controversies

  JStor
Service = JStor

An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
JStor

  Military & Government Collection
Service = EBSCO

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. It provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals plus full text for 245 pamphlets; it offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
Military & Government Collection

  Newsmaker Profiles
Service = Facts of File News Services

Biographies from World News Digest
Newsmaker Profiles

nbsp; Statesman's Yearbook Online
Service = Palgrave Macmillan

The Statesman's Yearbook, regularly updated to reflect chronologies of recent world events and accurate descriptions of International Organizations, contains information essential for diplomats, politicians and statesmen involved with international affairs and for anyone needing reliable, concise information on any country in the world. It has been published continuously since 1864, with expanding coverage of history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country worldwide. It also provides extensive further reading lists and web links for further research.
Statesman's Yearbook Online

  Today's Science
Service = Facts on File News Services

Accessible information on the latest developments in science for middle school through college. Articles include background information, useful Internet resources, and suggestions for further reading. It features overview articles linked to detailed news coverage, extensive use of illustrations, editorial cartoons, an automatic glossary, thorough linking to other FACTS.com databases, biographies of scientists and curriculum materials targeting multiple grade levels.
Today's Science


News Databases

Related Websites

Journalism Department
Government Sites
Selected Sites

Research Aids

Using the Library Databases
Quick APA Reference
APA Tutorials