Communication

Databases

   Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier

   ComAbstracts
Service = CIOS (Communication Institute for Online Scholarship)

The CIOS is a not-for-profit academic organization whose goal is to support research and education in communications-related disciplines (human communication studies, speech communication, rhetoric, journalism, mass communication, etc.) and to provide support for research and development of new technologies relevant to this mission.
ComAbstracts

   ComAnalytics
Service = CIOS (Communication Institute for Online Scholarship)

ComAnalytics provides “rankings” of the impact on the scholarly world of specific communication professors. The CIOS is a not-for-profit academic organization whose goal is to support research and education in communications-related disciplines (human communication studies, speech communication, rhetoric, journalism, mass communication, etc.) and to provide support for research and development of new technologies relevant to this mission.
ComAnalytics

   Communication and Mass Media
Service = EBSCO

A research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected coverage of over 230 more. Includes full text for more than 240 journals.
Communication and Mass Media

   Filmakers Library Online
Service = Alexander Street Press

Provides documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Filmakers Library Online

   GreenFILE
Service = EBSCO

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
GreenFILE

   Issues and Controversies
Service = Facts On File News Services (Infobase Publishing)

Analyzes and explains controversial topics with balance and accuracy, probing hot public policy issues. Covers more than 70 controversial topics yearly; online access includes frequent updating, interviews with experts, statistical overviews of major issues, selected newspaper editorials, editorial cartoons, primary documents, a directory of contact organizations and curriculum/study aids.
Issues and Controversies

   Literature Criticism Online
Service = Gale Cengage Learning

Full text literary criticism from the Drama Criticism and Short Story Criticism series.
Literature Criticism Online

   MasterFILE Premier
Service = EBSCO

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
MasterFILE Premier

   OAIster
Service = OCLC (305)

Contains digital resources from open archive collections, including digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and datasets. It represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1000 contributors worldwide and the records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click.
OAIster

   OmniFile Full Text Select
Service = EBSCO

OmniFile Full Text, Select Edition™ is a full text-only database that contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.
OmniFile Full Text Select

   Women and Social Movements
Service = Alexander Street Press

Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 85 document projects with more than 2600 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,000 authors. It includes as well book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Women and Social Movements

Selected eBooks

   Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Service = Gale Cengage Learning

Explores the full spectrum of communication, from careers to information technologies, in an interdisciplinary fashion. Emphasis is on both historical and current issues, topics, and people.
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information