Communication

Databases

Search the starred databases all at once:

  Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier*

  Communication and Mass Media
Service = EBSCO

A research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected coverage of over 230 more. Includes full text for more than 240 journals.
Communication and Mass Media*

  GreenFILE
Service = EBSCO

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
GreenFILE

  Issues and Controversies
Service = Facts on Files News Service

Analyzes and explains controversial topics with balance and accuracy, probing hot public policy issues. Covers more than 70 controversial topics yearly; online access includes frequent updating, interviews with experts, statistical overviews of major issues, selected newspaper editorials, editorial cartoons, primary documents, a directory of contact organizations and curriculum/study aids.
Issues and Controversies

  OAIster
Service = OCLC

Contains digital resources from open archive collections, including digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and datasets. It represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1000 contributors worldwide and the records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click.
OAIster

  Wilson Select Plus
Service = OCLC

Full text articles in science, humanities, education and business. Provides indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full-text periodical articles, many of which are linked to citations in other FirstSearch databases. Includes US and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines.
Wilson Select Plus

  Women and Social Movements
Service = Alexander Street Press

Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 85 document projects with more than 2600 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,000 authors. It includes as well book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Women and Social Movements

Selected eBooks

  Classical Rhetorics and Rhetoricians Critical Studies and Sources
Service = Thomson Gale

Chronicles the history and legacy of ancient rhetoric. Includes entries on classical rhetoricians who have shaped the history of Western civilization.
Classical Rhetorics and Rhetoricians Critical Studies and Sources

  Encylopedia of Communication and Information
Service = Thomson Gale

Explores the full spectrum of communication, from careers to information technologies, in an interdisciplinary fashion. Emphasis is on both historical and current issues, topics, and people.
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information