COMM 457: COMMUNICATION THEORY

Finding Articles | Finding Books | APA Citation Style | Help

Finding Articles

Database Name

Description

 

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies - CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. In addition, Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources. In total, several hundred valuable sources are covered. database tips
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. Note: I found many "false-hits" when doing keyword searches.  
Wiley InterScience
Holds the full-text articles of over 850 journals. The subjects covered range across Medicine, Science, Social Science and the Humanities.  
Choice Reviews Online
ChoiceReviews.online provides access to ... [book] reviews published since September 1988. The database is updated monthly, generally at mid-month, with reviews that will be printed in the next monthly issue of CHOICE. The newest reviews appear, arranged by academic discipline and broad cross-disciplinary topic, in Current Issue.They also are searchable by using Advanced Search, selecting by CHOICE Issue Date, and combining with various other criteria. This page provides more instruction for finding book reviews.  
Dissertations and Theses
Contains "doctoral dissertations and master’s theses .... From engineering to environmental studies, linguistics to life sciences.... the most comprehensive single source of multidisciplinary academic research papers in the world."  
ECO

Full text collection of scholarly journals (1995 to present). Includes all of the original content and images of articles plus citation information. Subjects include: agriculture, anthropology, business, economics, education, fine arts, geography, history, language, law, library science, literature, medicine, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, social science, and technology. Updated Daily.

 
EJS (EBSCO)

Link to this collection from other EBSCO databases. EJS contains full text of articles for those journals managed through EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (EJS), as well as usage of Links in EBSCOhost. EJS ejournals allows search and retrieval of citations, abstracts, and full text. Users will have access to titles from publishers who have given EBSCO permission to re-use Table of Contents and abstract information in an aggregated database

 
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.  
SocINDEX with fulltext (EBSCO)
"SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study." Note: I found International publications and cross-cultural studies.  

Finding Books

    BLISweb: Olivet's online catalog

    I-Share: shared catalog of 65 libraries in Illinois.

    WorldCat: Check the holdings or request books from libraries across the U.S. and from other nations

    Recommended Books

    • Advertising strategy: A communication theory approach / Larry Percy, John R. Rossiter. 1980
      Call Number: 659.1 P412a
    • Basic readings in communication theory / C. David Mortensen. 1979
      Call Number: 301.14 M824b
    • Chinese communication theory and research [electronic resource] : reflections, new frontiers, and new directions / edited by Wenshan Jia, Xing Lu, and D. Ray Heisey. 2002
      Call Number:
    • Communication--Encyclopedias. Encyclopedia of communication and information / edited by Jorge Reina Schement. 2002
      Call Number: R 302.2 En19s
    • Communication--Encyclopedias. International encyclopedia of communications / Erik Barnouw, editor-in-chief ... [et al.]. 1989
      Call Number: R 302.2 In8
    • Communication theory / Ernest G. Bormann. 1980
    • Call Number: 001.51 B645cCommunication theory: Eastern and western perspectives / edited by D. Lawrence Kincaid. 1987
      Call Number: 302.2 C737k
    • Handbook of rhetorical and communication theory edited by Carroll C. Arnold, John Waite Bowers. 1984
      Call Number: 001.5101 H191
    • Human communication theory / Sarah Trenholm. 1986
      Call Number: 001.51 T723h
    • Human communication theory: The history of a paradigm / Nancy L. Harper. 1979
      Call Number: 001.51 H233h
    • Human communication theory and research : concepts, contexts, and challenges / Robert L. Heath, Jennings Bryant. 1992
      Call Number: 302.2 H351h
    • Intercultural communication theory / edited by Richard L. Wiseman. 1995
      Call Number: 302.2 In8, v.19
    • Intercultural communication theory : current perspectives / edited by William B. Gudykunst. 1983
      Call Number: 302.2 In8, v.7
    • Mass communication theory: An introduction / Denis McQuail. 1983
      Call Number: 001.51 M242m
    • Nonverbal communication: Survey, theory, and research / Daniel Druckman, Richard M. Rozelle, James C. Baxter. 1982
    • Organizational communication: Theory and practice / Gary L. Kreps. 1986
      Call Number: 658.45 K883o

    • Speech-communication: Theory and models / Raymond G. Smith. 1970
      Call Number: 001.51 Sm64s

    • Transmission of information: A statistical theory of communications / 1961
      Call Number: 621.38 F217t

    • Understanding communication theory : the communicative forces for human action / John F. Cragan, Donald C. Shields. 1998
      Call Number: 302.2 C843u
    • Using mass communication theory / Maxwell E. McCombs, Lee B. Becker. 1979
      Call Number: 070.43 M134u

    APA Citation Style

    Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format (Updated to 5th Edition) from, Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)