COMM 105: Fundamentals of Communication

When you know which type of source you want
Use these Benner Librarian recommended resources
Popular Articles MasterFILE Premier
Service = EBSCO

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
MasterFILE Premier


Scholarly Articles Choose from databases recommended on the Library subject guides

Remember: Use database options to limit your search results to search results to "peer reviewed" or "scholarly"
eBooks Credo Reference
Service = Credo Reference

Credo Reference is a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference
or Gale Virtual Reference Library
Service = Gale Cengage Learning

Gale Virtual Reference Library offers you an online collection of premier reference eBooks. You can search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection - a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library
for background info and facts

ebrary ebooks
Service = eBrary

Fulltext access to 30,000+ books, reports and maps from leading academic publishers. ebrary eBooks
ebrary ebooks
-- for scholarly books

Benner Library eBooks -- for American Decades , American Eras, and other titles
Books Library Catalog
Service = CARLI (Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois)

Benner Library's Online Catalog.
Library Catalog
--Olivet's holdings

I-Share
Service = CARLI (Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois)

80 Academic libraries in Illinois. Request books using the barcode number on your student ID.
I-Share
--75+ Illinois partner libraries
Photographs and graphics AP Images


Define Information Requirements Assignments: Tip: Audience Assessment summary
Define Research Topic Often the hardest part of a research project is choosing a do-able topic. BEFORE submitting your final topic, do initial research to make sure you’ll have enough resources…but not too many (otherwise focus on a narrower aspect of your topic!)

Use "Flower Diagram" to brainstorm narrower aspects of your topic.
Use Process Check#2 to see if there are enough resources to make your topic do-able.
Locate and Retrieve Relevant Information Tutorials:

Recommended Benner Library databases for:

Evaluate Information Evaluation criteria: for webpages | for articles
Organize and Synthesize Information [Annotated Bibliography—for Prof. Lamb-Normand’s sections]
Communicate Results Using Ethical Practices APA Citations