COMM 105: Fundamentals of Communication

Do you want to...

Then use:

...get speeches? Full-text and audio (Rio Hondo College) List of Speech Topics (Cincinnati State)
...get quotes, cartoons, or art images? Quotes.com or find cartoons (on-campus link)
Saskia Image Archive
...get photos? Flickr. Look for images that are okay to use with "attribution only" or "attribution & non-commercial use"
AP Images
History Study Center's Picture Library
...get music clips? DRAM
... find article citations & some full-text? Library article databases
... get full-text articles? Full-text journal titles at Olivet (search by title or subject)
... see what journals Olivet has in print? Search our print journals by title
... find books? BLISweb:ONU library catalog
I-Share: shared catalog for 76 libraries in Illinois
e-books
... look up a word? Oxford English Dictionary online
... look up an invention or event? Use scholarly ebooks from ebrary or reference sources
World Almanac
... find a biography? American National Biography
Biography Index
... get information on a country? Statesman's Yearbook Online
CIA World Factbook
... get health information? Health Source Consumer Edition Nutrition Care Manual
... evaluate Web pages? Brief list of criteria | Questions to ask yourself
...persuade someone? Issues and Controversies database CQ_Researcher
CQ_Weekly
...get background info? Selected general reference sources
Selected subject-specific reference sources

 

Recommended databases

Database
Description
Academic Search Premier The largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.
ArticleFirst Includes articles, news stories, and letters. Subjects include: business, science, humanities, social science, medicine technology, and popular culture.
CQ Researcher The award-winning choice of researchers seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Controversial topics addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner.
History Study Center
Over 40,000 documents of historical reference material from ancient times through today's current events. Includes Reference Works from atlases, biographical collections, encyclopedias, and research guides; Picture Library-3,000+ captioned historical photos, political cartoons, woodcuts; Video Library-hundreds of historical video clips, captioned for context and searching; Web Gateway-annotated links to thousands of reliable websites.
Issues and Controversies An excellent source of up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day. Combines authoritative factual analysis and clear explanations of opposing points of view and numerous special features.
Periodical Abstract Citations and abstracts from 2,040+ general and academic journals (1987 to present). Covers transcripts of significant segments of news-and lifestyle-oriented t.v. and radio programs. Coverage includes: business, economics, literature, psychology, religion, and women's studies.

 

Citing and Evaluating Sources

CITATING Sources EVALUATING Sources
APA citations To see how to tell the difference between a popular source and a scholaraly source, go to: Popular -v- Scholarly Sources
For tips about how to incorporate citations into your speeches click here. (Colarado State University) Find help on evaluating web pages (University of Berkeley).

Creating Visual Aides

Consult these tutorials to get help with PowerPoint: