Selected Websites


ACS Division of Physical Chemistry
ACS page for physical chemistry giving new information in this division.

AKiTi.ca - Main
This site has a number of items related to math utilities and science related items.

American Chemical Society - The world's largest scientific socie
Requires registration; provides information for undergraduate and graduate students through the educator and students section; news and articles are available through the enthusiasts section

American Elements
Descriptions of the research on and uses of each of the elements, including properties, safety data, and applications

Analytical Chemistry
Lecture material associated with analytical chemistry

Atomic Orbitals
Provides a description of atomic orbitals, a program for drawing orbitals, and a large table of atomic orbitals.

ATSDR Home
This institute is a part of the Department of Health and Human Services; gives information on hazardous substances and public health

Basics of NMR
An extensive online textbook of NMR concepts

CambridgeSoft
Provides synonyms, CAS numbers, and physical properties data for thousands of chemicals.

CDC - NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards (NPG)
(NIOSH), Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards — this institute is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC); presents key information and data for about 650 chemicals or substance groups

ChemExper - catalog of chemicals suppliers, physical characteris
Can search site by name, molecular formula, or CAS number; gives a structure in addition to several physical properties such as foulard weight, melting point, boiling

chemguide: helping you to understand Chemistry - Main Menu
The guide is divided into several sections: Atomic Structure and Bonding, Inorganic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Instrumental Analysis, Basic Organic Chemistry, Properties of Organic Compounds, and Organic Reaction Mechanisms

Chemical and Other Safety Information from the Physical Chemistr
MSDS on about 15,500 chemicals through the MSDS Data Sheets link; a chemical safety information glossary is also provided through the Glossary link.

Chemical blogspace
Hosts chemistry projects and pulls together thousands of posts from various chemical and biochemical blogs.

Chemical Separations
Lecture material associated with distillation, solvent extraction, and chromatography

Chemistry Databases on the Web
An alphabetical list maintained by Chemical Informatics and Cyberinfrastructure Collaboratory (CICC) at Indiana University as part of the CHEMBIOGRID: Combining Grid Computing with Chemical Informatics, An NIH-funded Project.

Chemistry World - the latest chemical science news articles
Chemistry World delivers the latest chemistry news every day.

Chemists and Materials Scientists


CHP - Analytical Chemistry Basics
Provides an introduction to basic concepts and and methods of analytical chemistry. Topics include equilibrium, gravimetry, titration, electrochemistry, spectroscopy, and separations

CHP - Analytical Instrumentation Menu
Provides an introduction on common methods of instrumental analysis

Complex Ions
Virtual experiments involving aqueous chemistry of common metal ions belonging to the first transition series

Coordination Compounds Help Page
A look at coordination compounds, isomerism, and crystal field theory. A glossary of related terms is also provided

Department of Energy - Homepage
Through the Science and Technology link on the left column, there is a great deal of information through the Research Initiatives and Education & Information quick links

EdNet@UMass -- Chemistry Functions
Website can be used to solve chemistry related problems such as molar conversions and balancing chemical equations

Electronic Organic Chemistry Flashcards
From Ohio State University; flashcard decks are provided for various organic reactions, simply click on a reaction type and flip through the flashcards.

eMolecules.com | Chemical Structure Drawing Search
This site is an open-access chemistry search site. Its mission is to discover, curate and index all of the public chemical information in the world, and make it available to the public (formerly called "chmoogle").

Engineers


Environmental Scientists and Specialists


Enzyme Database - BRENDA
Enzyme database

General Chemistry Online: FAQ: Introduction to organic chemistry
Sponsored by Frostburg State University; reviews and explains some common mechanisms

General Chemistry Online: Home
Provides online notes for general chemistry; a glossary is provided with hundreds of terms

General, Organic and Biochemistry
Review material over alkanes, unsaturated hydrocarbons, alcohols, phenols, ethers, aldehydes, ketones, carboxylic acids, ester, amines, and amides

Geoscientists and Hydrologists


Glossary of Class Names
Structures and formulas for numerous organic compounds and reactive intermediates

HighWire
A free online site presenting extensive information on algebraic, functional, ordinary differential, partial differential, integral, and other mathematical equations

History of Chemistry - 1992 Woodrow Wilson Summer Institute in C
A look at the history of chemistry by topic and scientist. Topics include: Acids and Bases, Gaw Laws, and Electrochemistry among others

Interactive Tutorials
From Ohio State University; provides short quizzes on a variety of areas in general chemistry

International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry
Provides information on nomenclature and symbols; there are links to websites about chemical elements; a few online publications are also available

KryssTal : The Elements
A short essay about some of the important chemical elements

Macrogalleria
A University of Southern Mississippi polymer website; an extensive look at polymers

Molecular Visualization Freeware
Allows one to take a look at 3D molecular structures

Monomer Chem's Name Reaction List
A list of organic reactions from A to Z, just click on a term and see the reaction drawn out

NIST Chemistry WebBook
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Collection of thermochemical and thermophysical data complied by the NIST

NIST Elemental Data Index
Provided by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST); it’s a periodic table with individual elemental data such as atomic weight, ionization energy, ground-state level, and ground-state configuration

PNNL: News Center - Home - Top Stories from Pacific Northwest Na
PNNL: News Center - Home - Top Stories from Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Polymers
A look at the fundamental properties of polymers

Proton Nuclear Magnetic Resonance
Some basics on proton NMR

Science Daily: News & Articles in Science, Health, Environment &
Information on the latest discoveries and research taking place within the United States

Science News
Online news magazine; some full text articles online, however bibliographic references and sources are available for all published articles

Science news and science jobs from New Scientist - New Scientist
Vast assortment of scientific topics; information ranges from artificial intelligence to alternative fuel vehicles

Science.gov : USA.gov for Science - Government Science Portal
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Gives the values of scientific constants and explains the SI measurement system

Science/AAAS | Collections: Science Special Collections: NetWatc
Through Science Magazine; links to hundreds of websites for any scientific subject

SCIMEDIA: Analytical Chemistry Basics
Information on the fundamental concepts and methods of analytical chemistry. Topics include chemical equilibrium, gravimetric analysis, titrations, electrochemistry, spectroscopy, and separations

SCIRUS (advanced search)
a free database of scholarly articles and web content. Includes physics, biology, and more. “SCIRUS is the most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web. With [545+ million] scientific items indexed…, it allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.”

Selected Classic Papers from the History of Chemistry
Papers are arranged by subject area or alphabetically by author.

Sheffield ChemPuter
Chemistry Calculator; can calculate element percentages in molecules and reaction yields

SIRI MSDS Index
MSDS direct from the manufacture.

spectroscopyNOW.com - spectroscopy and spectrometry portal
News and Features and Education links provide some useful information on current research articles

Stain Removal Guide
Tips to removing ink and rust stains and more

Statistics for Analytical Chemistry
Introduction to statistical tools used for analytical chemistry

Technology News - Computers, Internet, Invention and Innovation
Updated science and space news from CNN.com

The Amino Acid Repository - JenaLib
Extensive tables and lists of properties of the 20 standard amino acids and of amino acids in proteins

The Analytical Chemistry Springboard
Provides a comprehensive list of analytical chemistry resources on the Internet.

The Chemical Database
Information for over 20,000 hazardous chemicals; includes names, formulas, and physical data

The NIST Reference on Constants, Units, and Uncertainty
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Gives the values of scientific constants and explains the SI measurement system

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Reviews the noble prize winners in chemistry

The Organometallic HyperTextBook Index
Information given on topics such as carbonyl complexes and substitution reactions

The T.W.I.N.K.I.E.S. Project
Highly scientific experimental results involving Twinkies

Themes | Chemical Heritage Foundation
Biographical information on scientists who have made a contribution to science and more specifically chemistry

US Environmental Protection Agency
Online resources available from the Environmental Protection Agency.

Visual Elements
Gives information on each element, such as discovery, origin, and properties

Visualizing Molecules
Contains Lewis dot and 3D structures for a variety of molecules

VSEPR Help Page
Reviews Lewis structures and molecular geometry; a glossary of chemistry terms is also provided

WebElements Periodic Table of the Elements
A periodic table with extensive information about every element; information ranges from the history of the element to common compounds to physical properties

Welcome to ChemWeb
Requires registration; provides updated chemistry news and information according to discipline (Analytical, Bio, Catalysis…) and through the Alchemist magazine; there is limited access to databases and journals.

Submit a question or suggest a link.