CHEM/GEOL 385: Environmental Geochemistry

Secondary sources: suggested books, LCSH, call ranges, review journals
Primary sources: Recommended journal titles | Article databases
Help: Reference, Presentation tips


Secondary Sources

Library Catalog 
Benner Library's Online Catalog.
I-Share 
80 Academic libraries in Illinois. Request books using the barcode number on your student ID.
Glossaries, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias: Geology List hosted by Institute of Mineralogy, University of Würzburg (Germany)
Access Science is an online encyclopedia of science and technology.
Access Science Encyclopedia and Dictionary Topics include: Earth Science

Suggested monograph (book) titles at Olivet:

Title
Publication date
Call number
Boron : mineralogy, petrology and geochemistry 1996 549.25 B645g
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Earth Science 1981 R550.3 C144
Chemical cycles in the evolution of the Earth 1988 551.9 C42g
Compendium of geochemistry : from solar nebula to the human brain 2000 551.9 L612c
Dictionary of Geological Terms 1962 R550.3 Am35d
Environmental chemistry 2000 540 M311e, 2000
Geochemistry and mineralogy of rare Earth elements 1989 546.41 G29L
Geochemistry : an introduction 2003 551.9 AL13g
Geochemistry : pathways and processes 2003 551.9 M249g, 2003
Geology of Florida 1997 557.59 G292r
Global environment : water, air, and geochemical cycles 1996 551.5 B457g
Global water cycle: geochemistry and environment 1987 551.48 B457g
Glossary of Geology 1980 R550.3 G516, 1980
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology 2002 R 503 M178m, 2002
Mineral-water interface geochemistry 1990 549.13 M662h
Organic geochemistry : poster sessions from the 16th International Meeting On Organic Geochemistry 1993 551.9 Or3y
Organic geochemistry : principles and applications 1993 551.9 Or3e
Oxford Companion to the Earth 2000 R550.3 Ox2h
Physics and chemistry of lakes 1995 551.482 P569L
Radiogenic isotope geology 1995 551.701 D56r
Silica : physical behavior, geochemistry and materials applications 1994 549.6 Si34h
Stable isotope geochemistry 1997 551.9 H671s
Unlocking the stratigraphical record: advances in modern stratigraphy 1998 551.7 Un4d
Volatiles in magmas 1994 551.13 V88c

Library Catalog 
Benner Library's Online Catalog.
I-Share 
80 Academic libraries in Illinois. Request books using the barcode number on your student ID.

Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH):

Suggested call number ranges:

Subject Heading Number of titles at Olivet
Analytical geochemistry 2

Geochemistry

98
Analytical Geochemistry 2
Geochemistry Dictionaries 1
Geochemistry Problems, exercises, etc 1

Geochemistry Tables

1

Geochronology

11
Geochronometry 4
 
Call number range Content
550
Earth sciences
551
Geology, hydrology, meteorology
553
Economic geology

Review Journals

  • All Olivet print journal subscriptions: Use Periodical Holdings list, in a white binder, next to each public computer or check online
  • Request an article through InterLibrary Loan

Recommended Journals (Primary Sources)

  • All Olivet print journal subscriptions: Use Periodical Holdings list, in a white binder, next to each public computer or check online
  • Check Fulltext eJournals for online access to a specific title
  • Request an article through InterLibrary Loan

Article Databases

  Database Description
search tips start hereScirus A scientific based search engine that can be used to obtain websites and/or journal articles.
  Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,200 journals in the collection. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
  GeoRef The GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. The database contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. It covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. A subscription to the GeoRef database also includes access to the GeoRef In Process and a link to the GeoRef Preview database on the AGI web site.
  ScienceDirect World's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medical full-text and bibliographic information. Olivet has full-text access to engineering and technology titles plus some free titles.
  American Chemical SocietyAmerican Chemical Society Journals All of these journals are either published or co-published by the American Chemical Society. The journals provide highly specialized articles within their respective field of study. Journals can be searched at one time, a combination of journals can be searched, or an individual journal can be searched.