Book Reviews

Databases

   Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier

   ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Service = EBSCO

Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals (518 currently indexed), more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, and more than 511,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

   Book Review Index Online Plus
Service = Gale Cengage Learning

A comprehensive guide to book reviews with millions of review citations and thousands of full-text reviews from InfoTrac OneFile and InfoTrac Expanded Academic, as well as full text via links to library holdings. Helpful for research in many disciplines, especially literature, history, education, and psychology.
Book Review Index Online Plus

   Book Review Digest Plus
Service = EBSCO

Book Review Digest Plus is a library tool that brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources. Unlike reviews on book-sale sites and the open Internet, many of the reviews are serious, academic works.
Book Review Digest Plus

   Choice Reviews Online
Service = Choice

ChoiceReviews.online provides a database of past reviews from CHOICE as well as electronic access to reviews in a single issue of the magazine. Use Current Issue to browse titles and reviews from the most recent issue by major subject category. Use QuickSearch or Advanced Search to search for older materials that may have been reviewed as far back as September 1988.
Choice Reviews Online

   JStor
Service = JSTOR (ITHAKA)

An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
JStor

   OmniFile Full Text Select
Service = EBSCO

OmniFile Full Text, Select Edition™ is a full text-only database that contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.
OmniFile Full Text Select

Selected eBooks

   Public Library Core Collection: Nonfiction
Service = EBSCO

Public Library Core Collection: Non-Fiction recommends reference and nonfiction books for the general adult audience. Acquisitions librarians, reference librarians and catalogers can all use this reliable guide to building and maintaining a well-rounded collection of the most highly recommended reference and non-fiction books for adults.
Public Library Core Collection: Nonfiction