Biography



Databases

   Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier

   Biography Index
Service = EBSCO

Biography Index: Past and Present is a trusted, biographical resource. Featuring retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946, it combines retrospective coverage with current indexing to produce a comprehensive biographical resource for students, scholars, media professionals, book clubs, and all researchers seeking biographical information. Content Includes: Over a million article and book citations Retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946 Coverage of present-day news-makers Entries on individuals that reflect the perspective of the time when they were written
Biography Index

   Biography Reference Bank
Service = EBSCO

Wilson's largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!
Biography Reference Bank

   Lexis Nexis
Service = LexisNexis

Academic (Lexis-Nexis) provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. Newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
Lexis Nexis

   Oxford African American Studies Biographies
Service = Oxford University Press

Explore the world of African American history and the African diaspora through: Core content – (five major Oxford encyclopedias covering all aspects of the African American past and more than 18 Oxford reference sources), images (over 1,300 images), primary sources (250 primary sources) charts, tables and graphs (more than 200 charts, tables, and graphs representing demographic information in the areas of history, government and politics, business and labor, education, law and crime, the arts, and much more), maps (30 and 50 thematic maps), and timelines. Includes a Learning Center - designed for the school market with ready reference tools such as country profiles, suggested lesson plans by grade level, and study guides to match the curriculum.
Oxford African American Studies Biographies

Selected eBooks

   AccessScience_Biographies
Service = McGraw Hill Companies

Biographies from AccessScience
AccessScience_Biographies

   American National Biography
Service = Oxford University Press

The ANB Online is a collection of biographies Americans that are deceased prior to 1996. It includes features and materials not available in the print edition including illustrations, internal cross-references within the biographies, and links to external online resources.
American National Biography

   Credo Reference: Biography
Service = Credo Reference

Search resources related to biographies in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference: Biography

   Encyclopedia of World Biography
Service = Gale Cengage Learning

A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.
Encyclopedia of World Biography

   Salem History
Service = Salem Press

Includes the complete content of three printed reference series of historical reference: Milestone Documents - A new, primary source series, The Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American history series, and Great Lives from History - The definitive, worldwide biographical resource.
Salem History

   Today's Science
Service = Facts On File News Services (Infobase Publishing)

Accessible information on the latest developments in science for middle school through college. Articles include background information, useful Internet resources, and suggestions for further reading. It features overview articles linked to detailed news coverage, extensive use of illustrations, editorial cartoons, an automatic glossary, thorough linking to other FACTS.com databases, biographies of scientists and curriculum materials targeting multiple grade levels.
Today's Science