Biography
Databases
Search the starred databases all at once:
Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides
full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed
titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals,
and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on
a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier
Biography Index
Service = OCLC
Index to a wide range of biographical material, covering articles, books, and autobiographies for biographical subjects from antiquity to the present and includes individual and collective biographies from all fields and nationalities.
Biography Index*
Lexis Nexis People
Service = Lexis Nexis
Search for biographical information about individuals using the biographical search form.
LexisNexis People
Newsmaker Profiles
Service = Facts of File News Services
Biographies from World News Digest
Newsmaker Profiles
Salem History
Service = Salem Press
Includes the complete content of three printed reference series of historical reference: Milestone Documents - A new, primary source series, The Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American history series, and Great Lives from History - The definitive, worldwide biographical resource.
Salem History
Today's Science
Service = Facts on File News Services
Accessible information on the latest developments in science for middle school through college. Articles include background information, useful Internet resources, and suggestions for further reading. It features overview articles linked to detailed news coverage, extensive use of illustrations, editorial cartoons, an automatic glossary, thorough linking to other FACTS.com databases, biographies of scientists and curriculum materials targeting multiple grade levels.
Today's Science
Selected eBooks
Access Science
Service = McGraw Hill
A collection of online science reference materials with access to all the articles, fully illustrated with thousands of illustrations, from the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Includes the latest Science News® headlines and biographies.
Access Science
American National Biography
Service = Oxford University Press
The ANB Online is updated with new biographies quarterly and includes features and materials not available in the print edition including illustrations, internal cross-references within the biographies, and links to external online resources.
American National Biography
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Service = Thomson Gale
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Credo Reference: Biographies
Service = Credo Reference formerly Xrefer
Search resources related to Biographies in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference: Biographies
Encyclopedia of World Biography
Service = Thomson Gale
A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.
Encyclopedia of World Biography
Notable Sports Figures
Service = Thomson Gale
Takes a close look at the people in sports who have captured attention because of success on the playing field, or controversy off the playing field. This work features biographies on more than 600 people from around the world and throughout history who have had an impact not only on their sport, but also on the society and culture of their times. It also includes not only the record-breakers that dominated and changed their sport, but also the controversial figures that made headlines even apart from athletic events.
Notable Sports Figures
Other Resources
Websites
Research Aids
Citation & Format Guides
APA /
MLA
Dictionaries
Tips & Tutorials