Art & Digital Media

Databases

   Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier

   AP Images
Service = EBSCO

Primary source database of photographs, audio, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. Over 2 million photographs dating back 1826, more than 1 million sound bites dating from the 1920’s, 2 million AP news stories from 1997, and collections of maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and illustrations are included. Updated with more than 3 thousand photos daily.
AP Images

   Art and Architecture in Video
Service = Alexander Street Press

A collection of documentaries and interviews illustrating the history, theory and practice of art, design and architecture.
Art and Architecture in Video

   CAMIO
Service = OCLC (305)

OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online represents the collections of prominent museums highlighting the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms. It is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.
CAMIO

   JStor
Service = JSTOR (ITHAKA)

An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
JStor

   Medical Images Collection
Service = EBSCO

Medical Images Collection found within EBSCO's Consumer Health Complete database.
Medical Images Collection

   Saskia Art Images
Service = CARLI (Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois)

The collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections: the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches Museum, the Uffizi, and the Louvre as well as archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey and Egypt. The images can be displayed and downloaded in high-resolution format. Descriptive data about the images includes references to the occurrences of these images in 19 major art history texts.
Saskia Art Images


Selected eBooks

   Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Service = Gale Cengage Learning

Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music, and religion from a specific period, each volume in this five-volume set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume. Nine chapters follow, covering the major branches of the humanities: architecture and design, dance, fashion, literature, music, philosophy, religion, theater, and visual arts. Chapters begin with a chronology of major events within the discipline followed by articles covering the movements, schools of thought, and masterworks that characterize the discipline during the era and biographical profiles of pioneers, masters, and other prominent figures in the field. Chapters end with significant bibliography of primary documents from the period.
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras

   Credo Reference: Art
Service = Credo Reference

Search resources related to Art in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference: Art

   Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art & Architecture
Service = Oxford University Press

Built on the scholarship of the Grove Dictionary of Art, this work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history. Recent changes in Islamic art in areas such as Afghanistan, Iran and Iraq are elucidated here by distinguished scholars. Entries provide in-depth art historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. Over 500 illustrations of sculpture, mosaic, painting, ceramics, architecture, metalwork and calligraphy illuminate the rich artistic tradition of the Islamic world. The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art & Architecture
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art & Architecture

   Grove Encyclopedia of Materials & Techniques Service
Service = Oxford University Press

Provides historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art. Coverage includes materials in art practice (e.g. ink, enamel, digital materials); materials in conservation (e.g. adhesives); classes of artifacts (e.g. wallpaper, mosaic, ceramic); techniques and methods (e.g. book binding, gilding, printing, weaving), terms (e.g. rustication), tools (e.g. easel, laser), theory (e.g. technical examination, conservation controversies), fakes & forgeries, and conservation theorists and practitioners. The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials & Techniques
Grove Encyclopedia of Materials & Techniques Service

   Masterworks Video Collection
Service = Credo Reference

A collection of art history videos. Each short documentary showcases an artist and a key piece, illuminating the context and history of the work. Illustrated and compellingly presented (narration accompanies each film), these films provide insight into master works of painting.
Masterworks Video Collection
 
   Oxford Art Online
Service = Oxford University Press

Oxford Art Online comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001). Articles that have been added or updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen.
Oxford Art Online

   Springer eBooks
Service = Springer

Online book collection which includes online access to more than 25,000 titles comprised of 13 subject collections: Architecture and Design, Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material Sciences, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences & Law, Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Physics & Astronomy, Professional & Applied Computing The books are searchable and can be accessed in pdf and html data formats. Reproductions can be purchased by students at a reasonable price. The collection is developed to support the scientific and academic researcher.
Springer eBooks


Selected eJournals

   The Arts in Psychotherapy
Service = Elsevier B.V.

The Arts in Psychotherapy publishes 5 issues per annum, and is an international journal for professionals in the fields of mental health and education. The journal publishes peer-reviewed articles (including illustrations) by art, dance/movement, drama, music, and poetry psychotherapists, as well as psychiatrists, psychologists and creative arts therapists, that reflect the theory and practice of these disciplines. There are no restrictions on philosophical orientation or application. The Arts in Psychotherapy reports news and comments on national and international conferences and current education information relevant to the creative arts in therapy. The journal also includes book reviews, invites letters to the Editors, and welcomes dialogue between contributors.
The Arts in Psychotherapy